Chocolate Covered Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MrsMaxson
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe is exactly what I wanted. I made peanut butter and coconut. I thought I'd like the peanut butter best, but the coconut are outstanding! I added about half a teaspoon of salt to balance the sweetness a bit and I left out about half a pound of the powdered sugar. The peanut butter would have been better with the right amount of sugar. I used a cookie scoop to help get them the right size then used the shape of a Reese's egg to inspire the shape. Having them flattened made dipping very easy. I gave one to each of my nieces and nephews for Easter and they loved them, too. Yum and yum! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMaxson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
So I made this and 3 other rescipes for Valentine's day to give out to ALL my friends :) all turned out good. I used the Baker's Chocolate and a double boiler to melt it down. One note however: 1 cup of coco is WAY too much. I dumped the whole cup in and turned my dough to powder. I gave up on the coconut flavor and tried a second time on coco ones, I added like an 8th or a 4th cup and it worked great. Still very chocolatey. Made them a second time already and they turned out great. The peanut butter ones taste just peanut butter cups! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Loved them. It makes a lot. Plan to share with others unless you have a big party planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I made these for the kids at easter. They were great except for the cocoa ones which were way too dry. I ended up mixing them with the peanut butter ones to try and even it out but I still needed to add a little bit of oil to make it workable. They were really good though - I'm thinking this will probably become an easter tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was a great recipe as this was my first time. I will skip the chocolate next time as they just crumbled into bits (unless someone has a suggestion that works). The peanut butter eggs were double the size of the others. Good for me (the inside is my favorite part). Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This one is going to be a new Easter tradition at our house. Fabulous recipe, just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
My 10 year old daughter and I loved this recipe. The dough was very easy to handle. I made all the variations, and I used a small plastic egg (one half makes the shape of half an egg) sprayed with Pam to shape the dough. Awesome! You can also press these on any other molds and make candies for all occasions. Sprinkle with decorations immediately after dipping in chocolate since the coating sets quickly. Keeps really well at room temperature!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Instead of cream cheese, we used Neufchatel cheese. It never made a dough, so we made little balls with the coconut, and put them in the freezer to firm up. (Next time we will follow the recipe and use Cream Cheese). After dipping them in chocolate (we used SemiSweet baking chocolate) and putting back in the freezer, they were pretty good. The ones that we added cocoa powder to did make a dough that we could shape into egg shapes. One batch of cocoa powder eggs we added orange extract to and dipped in Semi Sweet Baking chocolate. The other batch of cocoa powder eggs we dipped in white chocolate baking squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mieu
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Easy to make! but incorporating the sugar is hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
these were very good, easy and quick in regards to candy making. Easy recipe to make alternate chocolates-I will enjoy playing and tweaking this recipe for Christmas chocolates, I look forward to trying them with different chocolate coatings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States