Chocolate Covered Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Don't like with mint...good with coconut and chocolate/almond and peanut butter...add more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Wow! These were awesome. I made the peanut butter and coconut flavours. Tried the third part with Nutella--was also very good. Hint-- Don't try with marshmallow cream--way too sticky to handle and I had to doctor it up with cocoa and rice crispies to make the dough managable--still turned out fine and did not go to waste--some folks liked them the best! I think you could half the recipe without worry if you wanted to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These were really yummy, amount of cocoa was way too much though. To one quarter of the mix I added 2 Tbsp Dutch cocoa powder and that was enough. Overall they were pretty easy to make; I used a small cookie scoop to shape the mix, then stuck two pieces together and shaped into an egg. Dark chocolate merckens worked really well for the coating, although it is easier to dip if you use a lot of melted chocolate. (I mixed the leftover dipping chocolate with crunchy peanut butter, then spread onto waxed paper and cut into squares when chilled, yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Yummy and easy to make, though fairly time-consuming. I mixed my dough with a mixer rather than by hand to incorporate ingredients more evenly. I divided the dough into thirds, flavoring one with coconut, one with peanut butter, and one with maple extract. All taste great! The maple candies were hard to form since no bulk was added to the dough, so they didn't end up with true egg shapes like the others. Adding walnuts to the mixture would help. I'm already envisioning other flavor possibilities...I think lemon extract with fresh lemon zest, coated in dark chocolate would be heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
what fun these were to make with my kids......simple.......scrumpious!.......i only made the coconut cream and the peanut butter....so the filling was cut in half....added 2 cups of coconut for the coconut cream and 1 16 ounce jar of peanut butter for the peanutbutter eggs.......i didnt use chocolate chips either.....found it easier to use almond bark.......and just put it on 200 degrees in the oven...stirring occasionally until desired consistency......they turned out great!......will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethanne Gallagher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
everyone loves the PB once, coconut and cocoa! except the plain once.. no one really loved those but they were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very Good! Kids found that the Peanut butter ones reminded them of the Reese's eggs you can only find at Easter, Think this will be a new family tradition! thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioMomof6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
these came out great I just added more peanutbutter ( my preference) i made a bunch and gave them away for Easter. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy S.
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
AMAZING! I made this exactly as stated, except I added a teaspoon of mint extract to the cocoa batch. Everyone raved over them! They said I were professional! My first time making anything candy related turned out fabulous! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I brought these to a family gathering, and almost everyone loved them. I made the peanut butter and coconut kind, and a mint one that I made up myself using Andes mint pieces and peppermint extract in the chocolate coating. These are all great - but a little too sweet for some people at the party. I would recommend making them smaller, so they are really only one small bite's worth. Also - to make life easier - use Baker's dipping tubs (or similar brand) for the chocolate coating. It was super easy, and tasty too! Will make these again, but will play around with the filling to see about cutting down the sweetness just a tad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States