Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Over the years I had lost this recipe and was so happy to find it here! One thing I do that solves the problem of too much frosting is I make the hole for the cherry larger so it takes more frosting, and then after baking I spread another spoon or so on top of the baked cookies,this makes them prettier and uses all the frosting, plus they are really scrummy with the extra frosting. The uncooked frosting that you put on the warm cookies after baking is just as good as the first that is spread on before baking. These cookies rock, they are the BEST cookie there is, if you like chocolate and cherries you will LOVE this cookie. :) P.S. I also sometimes add an extra egg, this makes the cookies soft and chewy, I like them better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
I just recently made these and they were fantastic! I assumed that the directions to add the frosting to the cookie before baking was incorrect but it's not and the cookie and frosting turn out great! For the last sheet I added marshmellows to the center of the thumbprint instead of cherries and covered with the frosting! These are incredibly good and remind me of the cookies we get at the mall. These will definitely be made again and join my Christmas cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These are fabulous! Tried frosting the cookies before & after baking. The cookies are much better if you wait to drizzle them post baking. And FYI: the icing makes triple the amount that you actually need. You could easily cut it in half and have plenty. Don't hesitate to make these. They're wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I've been making this cookie for years! They get stale REALLY fast, so I freeze them soon after they cool. I put them in a tupperware container with wax paper between the layers. They don't freeze rock-hard - you can eat right from the freezer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
What a decadent delight! I loved these cookies and I will certainly make them again. The cookies were delicious and attractive. I took them to a bake sale and many people asked for the recipe. I followed the advice of other reviewers and made a few changes: 1) doubled the batter but not the chocolate sauce, 2) used a half cup of white sugar and a half cup of brown sugar, 3) placed the cherry in the center of the cookie immediately after I took them out of the oven, and 4) drizzled the chocolate on after the cookie cooled. I also cut the cherries in half before inserting them into the center just to stretch the jar of cherries. (I'm glad I did or I would have run out of cherries.)The only problem I encountered was that my cookie dough was too soft and sticky to roll because the overzealous cherry lover in me added a little too much cherry juice to the batter. I remedied that by just dropping the batter onto the cookie sheet like a drop cookie, then using a spoon to "swirl" them into a round shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Lovely cookies, good flavor. I tripled the batch and made 1/3 of these cookies without the cherries in them, and they were a hit even without the fruit. With the fruit they were sensational as well. Be careful though not to get any of the choc. chip/condensed milk mixture off of the cookies themselves. if you let that mixture touch the cookie sheet, it tastes rather like burnt marshmallows (a taste I am not fond of!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These truly are yummy cookies, and like other reviews, the frosting yields so much, that you'll have enough to spoon a teaspoon onto each cookie instead of just drizzling it. Another hint, the frosting is not very cherry-flavored, and doubling or tripling the cherry juice in the frosting will improve the cherry flavor, but not compromise the thickness of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Good enough. The frosting did not have enough cherry in it and the cookie alone (once the cherry was gone) was no big deal. I will make again putting some cherry juice in the cookie and a lot more in the frosting (which I drizzled on after baked). Good concept though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
These cookies are soooo yummy!!! I added an extra egg like someone else had suggested and they are so chewy! They have a great chocolatey-fudgey taste. My cookies kind of spread out when they baked, instead of staying small and plump, but they still taste great. I'll be making these many more times to come! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEELIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
I first found this recipe in a Better Homes and Gardens years ago, and then lost it. I've been trying to find it ever since then. I was so surpirsed to find it here. These are wonderful, rich, moan-inspiring cookies. They get better after sitting in a tin for a week or so, since the chocolate topping sinks into the cookie and the cherry flavor becomes more intense. I add more cherry juice to the chocolate topping to thin it and then add a little extra to the cookies after they come out of the oven. Kids would enjoy eating these messy treats with a hidden cherry. Making them would be kid-friendly, too, except for the chocolate topping, which can get dangerously hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States