Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
I first found this recipe in a Better Homes and Gardens years ago, and then lost it. I've been trying to find it ever since then. I was so surpirsed to find it here. These are wonderful, rich, moan-inspiring cookies. They get better after sitting in a tin for a week or so, since the chocolate topping sinks into the cookie and the cherry flavor becomes more intense. I add more cherry juice to the chocolate topping to thin it and then add a little extra to the cookies after they come out of the oven. Kids would enjoy eating these messy treats with a hidden cherry. Making them would be kid-friendly, too, except for the chocolate topping, which can get dangerously hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
These are just sinful, they are so good. I usually double the recipe, because *everyone* who tries these cookies always wants at least two! The only problem: The recipe calls for WAY too much frosting. Solution? When you double the recipe, *dont'* double the frosting. It will come out almost perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I was hoping I would find this recipe again. My recipe card is unreadable from being used many times!! These cookies are delicious. I'm using this recipe for a cookie exchange as well as for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I lost this recipe several years ago. I am so glad to have found the exact same recipe. It's one the best cookies I've ever eaten and it will certainly make my family very happy this holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
An excellent cookie that is attractive as well. I ended up with 36 cookies by following the recipe, except I cut the cherries in half...whole cherries are a bit large for these cookies I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
These cookies have been a holiday standard in my family for more than 15 years. My mom originally found the recipe in a magazine and after making it once, we all fell in love with these rich, chocolatey cookies. I always make at least a double batch every Christmas and they go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
These were awesome cookies! I had way too much frosting left over, so I had to make another batch of cookies to use the leftover frosting. Everyone I gave the cookies to had nothing but good things to say about them. I've got requests to make another batch of them soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
I just recently made these and they were fantastic! I assumed that the directions to add the frosting to the cookie before baking was incorrect but it's not and the cookie and frosting turn out great! For the last sheet I added marshmellows to the center of the thumbprint instead of cherries and covered with the frosting! These are incredibly good and remind me of the cookies we get at the mall. These will definitely be made again and join my Christmas cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
These cookies are wonderful! People don't expect the cherry when they bite into them but are pleasently surprised. I made them for a church social and the Pastor begged me for the recipe! Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These are too good to be *just* for special occassions. A little work, so I usually double or triple the recipe to get it out of the way, but these are our favorite cookies in this house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States