Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
They are just ok. I added an extra egg to the cookie part as per a few other suggestions. The actual cookie was kind of bland. The chocolate topping definitely saved it. I added the chocolate before baking as well as after after I took them out of the oven. I'm so glad I added the second round of chocolate or I think I would have just ended up throwing the cookies out. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Pretty easy recipe and the cookies were so good. I've made this twice now and the only thing I've changed a little is the frosting. Took the advice of another poster and added a little more cherry juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Same here, I had lost the recipe. I used to make them years ago!! They are great!!! Everyone loves them!!! Especially kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Delicious! Very easy to make. I found dipping my finger in cocoa then making the indent easier and less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My husband loves chocolate covered cherries and these were great. I did follow some of the suggestions which was add an extra egg and more cherry juice to the frosting. After making half the batch I realized that you would taste more of the cherry if I cut them up in pieces and mix them into the batter so I did that for the second half of the batter. My husband liked these a bit better since they were easier to eat and got more cherry flavor in each bite. They weren't as pretty but if I took the time to frost; they would be. I also had to make the full batch of the frosting in order to frost all the cookies. GOOD recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These turned out super yummy. But I am giving it 4 stars because I baked mine differently from the directions given. I followed the recipe for the dough as is and added in about a tbsp of the cherry juice to the dough. I then greased up a mini muffin tin and measured out 1 tbsp of dough, wrapped a cherry in it and put it into the muffin cup. Baked for the specified 10 mins and it was perfect. As soon as I took it out the oven I made an indent in the center and spooned in the fudge mixture (which I still had leftovers from) then I topped with half maraschino cherry and some sprinkles for presentation. Overall the cookie is good, I feel the chocolate flavour is good enough to match the cherry flavour. Not too rich. I immediately stored these in the freezer after reading another review about how they go bad quickly (and I got way more cookies than the recipe specifies) They are so delicious straight from the freezer. Definitely a cookie I look forward to making again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These are exceptionally rich cookies. I did make a couple batches and altered the 2nd batch a little. I made the dough just as stated but added 2 tsps burbon which gives the dough an extra kick of flavor. For the frosting, I didn't use sweetened evaporated milk. I used a substitute which was basically 2 eggs, 1 c brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 2 tbsp flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt. Then added the rest of the original ingredients. They turned out better than the 1st batch. Which were still awesome! Also, if anyone cares, the cookie dough minus baking soda, laid very thick makes wonderful brownies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
They turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quixotic Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Ridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
These turned out really good! They were a bit labor intensive but were addictive. I couldn't stop at one! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Very, very good. The children said these were awesome and they were soft the day after. No changes needed, other than adding an additional egg. Also, note, I am a novice baker and did not know that I should have had the butter at room temperature or microwaved a little prior to blending butter with sugar! Also, I only yielded 15 cookies (hence they were big). I will cut initial size down next time to make 30!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States