Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These are great, but one caution no one mentioned. Do not let the frosting touch the ungreased cookie sheet! It will cook on like cement! Do save some frosting for after they come out of the oven. Keep cookies small so they don't break. Ultra yummy and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Awesome! I honestly don't like chocolate covered cherries--I made them for my husband because he does. But these cookies were great! I added about 1/4 cup of cherry juice to the dough to make it a little more workable--it was a bit too stiff without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This are definitely better with marshmallows instead of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Everyone LOVES these cookies, my mom made them every Christmas when I was growing up but I had written her recipe down wrong so it didn't work but this is it. The best cookies ever (and cookies aren't my favorite thing)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were pretty good. I some issues with the icing--kept having to add extra juice because it kept clumping and couldn't seem to get the right consistency. The cookie itself though is fantastic. Tastes like a moist and delicious brownie. I would never sub in marg or anything for the real butter. I am thinking about using the cookie dough recipe, omitting the cherry stuff and adding chocolate chips for a super chocolately cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
These cookies are absolutely scrumptious! Very rich and chocolately which is exactly what I was looking for. Didn't change a thing. Made these for Christmas and expect they will make it to my baking list next year! Thanks Jaime. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This cookie is probably a 5 star cookie if the recipe is followed. I took the advice of some of the reviewers and things didn't turn out so well! First-a second egg will make these cookies more cake like. I made a double batch using 4 eggs and did not like the texture of the cookie at all! Second-definately put the cherry into the cookie before baking! I tried both ways, before and after. You will get a better looking cookie if you put it in before baking. I put 1/2 cherry into the center of each cookie-no thumbprint. The whole cherry was overwelming to the cookie. Third-I iced my cookies after baking. The icing never dried- that must be the reason for baking the icing with the cookie! I made a double batch of cookies and a single batch of icing and still had way too much icing. I used a metal spoon and slowly drizzled the icing over the cookies. On my first batch of icing, I used evaporated milk-big mistake! The cookies did turn out beautiful and tasty. I'm hoping the icing will dry with time. They have been done for 1/2 hr. I will use the leftover icing as a topping for ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These are great! I did make some changes though. I didn't feel like doing the frosting, so I added chocolate chips to the batter, instead. When they were cool, I dusted them with powdered sugar. This really made them look festive, for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
yummy! Used for cookie exchange 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
i really really wanted to like these cookies- i came across the recipe on xmas eve and even trekked to to grocery store at the last minute to pick up the cherrie... i added an extra egg and a splash of cherry juice to the batter, but kept everything else as written- my cookies came out dry and they didnt even spread :( the chocolate cherry icing for these somewhat saves them, but not nearly enough for me to ever make again, nonetheless serve to company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States