Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I was looking for a new cookie recipe that would contain cherries, since they are a favorite of my husband's. I made the recipe exactly as is, and was so surprised that the frosting didn't run all over while baking on the cookie. The cookies were delicious; I believe they will be requested again very soon. Since there was leftover frosting, we refrigerated it and reheated at a later date, using it as a fondue with fresh berries. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I really wanted to like this. The pictures looked great. I thought to make only 1/2 of the fudge on top, and I wish I did because only half would fit on all of the cookies. I tried to do the drizzle technique, but it took a little too much effort to keep it thin enough to drizzle. I scooped the chocolate fudge on top in a tsp. increment, as suggested, and it had a very strange appearance with the 2 chocolate color variations and the bump in the middle from the cherry. Maybe, I am weird, but these resembled a body part to me. They were going to to go to a work office and I decided not a good idea. I didn't want any possible office discussion. Even if it is a little extra effort go for the chocolate drizzle to help with these appearance wise. The cookie does not need all that fudge anyway, they are already waaaayyy too SWEET! They were like eating uncooked brownie batter, in the center, finished off by sugary gritty grains in the mouth. I did cook them the full 10 minutes to and they appeared to be done on the outside. I guess I am really in the minority on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
fantastic! almost like a chocolate covered cherry piece of candy. We are in a motor home and stay in a park in Texas. I baked these for bingo and my neighbor told me not to take them. They're too good. She actually wanted to buy them from me. Needless to say, I gave her some. I didn't take them to Bingo. She said they are her favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yummo!!! Just like the kinds I used to make with mom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yum! My 10-year-old doesn't fancy the cherries, but everyone else thought it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Added cherry juice to dough, with a little extra flour. Cut the frosting in half. don't drizzle with choc. until baked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I have the same recipe for these cookies only they are called Buried Cherry Cookies. Last time I made them was at Christmas time. Unfortunately none of them made it to my cookie dish. I couldn't bear to part with them. I gave about 6 to my doctor and then I ate all the rest of them myself. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boardman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These require more effort, but are simply divine! We made a batch at Christmas time and didn't want to share them with anyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made these at Christmastime and I'm so glad I did! They really are fabulous! My husband loves chocolate covered cherries, so these were a hit with him, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is the exact recipe that I have been using for years. The difference is that my recipe makes 48 cookies, not 18. That is why so many reviewers have so much of the chocolate icing leftover. I roll the dough into 48 balls, then make the depression in them for the cherry. The larger ratio of cookie dough to cherry and chocolate is probably why some reviewers think this is a bland cookie, also. The cookies should be small so you can pop the whole thing in your mouth and get all the flavor at once. Oh...BTW...you might need more than one jar of cherries depending on what size cherries they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States