Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.Unfortunately, I didn't read reviews until after they were already in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Did this recipe for family for Christmas. Everybody loved the cookies. Had a sole request to make these "specific" for just themselves. :) When I first made these cookies the mix was just TOO dry so I added another egg and it came out just perfectly. Also tried with plump blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie_Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I couldn't find my recipe, so I knew that I could find it here. After reading a majority of the reviews, I felt that it needed some clarification (hence the 4 stars rather than 5). The original published recipe called for the chocolate topping to be added after the cookies are baked. Also, the pictures are deceiving. The chocolate shouldn't be drizzled over the top, it should be spooned over the cherries similar to chocolate covered cherries. This results in the correct ratio of chocolate (not an excess amount that other readers had) and the cookies will remain softer. Also, I make the dough balls just big enough to fit a cherry on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I found this recipe 2 years ago now and really loved it. Only giving 4 stars because i needed to adjust a bit to get the consistency right. My major challenge though was getting enough cherry flavor and getting a drizzle consistency that would harden enough to make for easier storage and presentation. I took the advice of other reviewers and added the extra egg (this did make them much more chewy!,) but still couldn't get enough cherry flavor at a good consistency. This third time I made them, I decided to reduce all of the maraschino cherry juice over low heat to thicken it first. Once it was like syrup I let it cool and thicken a bit, then I added half to the cookie dough and half to the chocolate drizzle mix. This really did the trick! The cookies and drizzle had way more cherry flavor and the drizzle hardened much better then ever before. I will keep doing this in the future. Also, a good note, after trying it both ways, I decided on drizzling before baking it is less shiny, but also isn't so sticky, so its possible to stack them better for storage. Thanks for the great recipe. This is the unanimous favorite cookie every year! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I have to make these every Christmas for gifts.Everybody loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I added an extra egg as some have advised for the chewy factor. As such, the dough was a bit loose for rolling, but chilling it for a few minutes in the fridge before baking solved that. I will definitely be adding these to my tried and true Christmas cookie list. Double the batch, trust me... you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCYL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I did not care for this particular cookie at all (sorry!). Since my changes MAY be to blame, I'm willing to give this another try.... I pretty much followed Jamie's directions to the letter with the exception of one (minor) change. I added approximately 2 T cherry juice to my cookie dough and subbed almond extract in lieu of the vanilla flavoring called for. I think the addition of cherry liquid (and the fact that I shaped my dough into balls slightly larger than a walnut) may have caused my cookies to spread. :( I was hoping for petite-sized cookies, but what I ended up with was LARGE, flat ones. Next time, I'll be sure to use my 1 T cookie scoop and I won't add any liquid to my dough! The chocolate filling is quite tasty, albeit with the addition of almost TRIPLE the amount of cherry juice called for (as is, I could barely detect a cherry flavor). I found it very difficult to drizzle my cookies with the leftover sauce (it was thick and gloppy, like soft ganache), even after thinning it considerably with ADDITIONAL cherry juice! All in all, this is a decent cookie, but is not presentable enough (at least to my standards) to include with my Christmas cookie trays. For all the effort involved, I expected more. Maybe this will be your new favorite, but it wasn't mine. Thanks anyways, Ms. Carpenter! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
A very yummy pretty cookie! I did add more cherry juice because I wanted to drizzle the tops not cover them with chocolate. I wanted to see the cherry. Next time, I might use milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet. I want a sweeter topping and the semi sweet still tasted semi sweet...not rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I just made a batch to see if they will be added to my Christmas cookie list. After reading the reviews, I made a few changes. First I doubled the recipe. I used 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 light brown sugar. I poured about 1/2 the jar of cherry juice in & chopped the cherries, adding them to the dough and lastly I added mini chips. I skipped the frosting in this recipe and will make my own vanilla glaze so I can sprikle with red & white sanding sugar. The cookies came out very chocolatey & brownie-like. The dough was too mushy to roll into balls so I used a cookie scoop which worked out perfectly. I will add this one to my cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I've made these and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States