Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Delicious! Easy to make, too. Took barely 30 minutes to do everything from mixing the batter to making the frosting to baking. The only change I did was adding less cherry juice to the frosting, after about two teaspoons the frosting seemed quite thin and I didn't want ti to run off the cookies. I also made my cookies a bit large, they ended up about 2" in diameter, because I wanted to bake them all at once and not have to do batches. Came out to 18 cookies total at the size I made them. I will definitely make these again, they were winners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Everybody in my family loves this recipe!! I did use almost all the cherry juice from the jar in the frosting, this makes a huge difference in the cherry taste. After baking them I added more frosting to each cookie. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Following suggestions, added an egg and doubled cherry juice. Next time I will triple it, but even so, these were super. I'm glad my son took these home with him; they would not have lasted three days with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These taste ok, but the cookie part is incredibly dry. I could barely roll the dough because it crumbled so much, and when I tried to push my thumb in it cracked at the sides. I'm not sure what happened, but the ratio of dry to wet ingredients does seem a little off. In the end, the frosting adds enough moisture to make it ok, but I was very disappointed. Did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bibi
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Oooops!! First let me just say that these cookies are delicious, and the chocolate sauce is to die for!! Now, I actually made a big booboo, while my 16 month old daughter is tugging at my pants trying to stand up crying, my 10 yr old daughter is helping me make the cookies and is asking me which ingredient to mix in next, I told her "the condensed milk" and after she poured it in the bowl, I said Oooops we just messed this recipe up, the condensed milk was for the sauce not for the cookie dough; since I'm just starting to play with cookie making from scratch, I thought I would have to throw away the dough, but instead decided to give it a try and put them in the oven anyway.... I was pleasantly surprised to see them raising and looking like a cookie after 4 minutes of baking.... (I didn't think that was going to happen) The end result was a scrumptious very chewy chocolate covered cherrie cookie. I loved them, and so did my 10 yr old! But next time I want to follow the recipe the way it should be, I'm sure they will be awesome cookies. My advice though, would be to put more cherry juice to really taste the cherry flavor if you love cherries as much as I do, I actually put in about 5 fluid oz of cherry juice. DELICIOUS! Thank you for this awesome recipe!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bibi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made these for my husband to take to a work party, and they were a hit. Very good chocolatey flavor and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lysa
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made only half the icing but added 6 tsp of cherry juice to it and 2 tbsp of cherry juice to the batter. The cookies came out with a definite cherry-chocolate flavor. These are very pretty and delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I just wanted to let you know everyone I work with Loved these cookies when I made them for a dinner we had. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Heath, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very good cookies. I bought a larger jar of cherries than suggested and ended up using most of them. It took a while to get the cookie dough moist but when I did it was easy to work with. LOTS of extra glaze though. You could cut it in half and still have plenty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This cookie is phenomenal! I didn't have cherries so I used marshmallows instead. I want to try it with cherries next time and maybe I'll even make a batch with raspberry jam in the thumbprint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States