Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
yummy! Used for cookie exchange 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
i really really wanted to like these cookies- i came across the recipe on xmas eve and even trekked to to grocery store at the last minute to pick up the cherrie... i added an extra egg and a splash of cherry juice to the batter, but kept everything else as written- my cookies came out dry and they didnt even spread :( the chocolate cherry icing for these somewhat saves them, but not nearly enough for me to ever make again, nonetheless serve to company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
If there were more than 5 stars, this would get them all! So easy, they look harder than they are, and so good and so impressive! I cover my cherries totally with the frosting, keeps the cherry from drying out that way. They're always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by KATH1973
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATH1973

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TXUKGal
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Love these! I made these twice in just as many days. I used maraschino cherries and also multi-coloured glace cherries. The maraschino's were the best. I also covered the cherry with chocolate as well as just putting chocolate stripes on some. I think leaving the cherry uncovered makes the most attractive cookie. I also did some with a combo of white choco and dark choco accents. These are def one of my new fav cookies! One little note, initially I thought the 9 servings meant I would only get about 9 or so cookies but I anaged to get 3-4 dozen out of the recipe. So not sure exactly what's considered a serving size with this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I felt compelled to rate this recipe because of all the great reviews it received. First off - the recipe is very poorly written and I'm surprised it passed the All Recipes review process - the yield states 18 cookies? I got 5 dozen - and followed the receipe exactly as written. They taste like a mediocre chocolate cookie with a cherry stuck in the middle. I used Ghirardelli cocoa and that didnt' help at all. The frosting makes ENTIRELY too much - I have at least a cup and half left over. The cookies stick to the sheets if even a drop of the frosting overflows and the cookie then falls apart. You might want to mention that they need to cool for a minute or two before attempting to remove them at all - but don't let them cool too much or they will stick to the pan and fall apart when trying to remove them. Horrible recipe and a very bland cookie. Sorry but this is the worst recipe I've ever tried from this site and I've used this site almost daily for close to 8 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great recipe!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Mena
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These cookies are very yummy and chocolatey. I added more cherry juice to my icings like some of the reviewers had mentioned and an extra egg for that chewy taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The afternoon I baked these I was thinking they earned a four, but after sitting a few days (like true chocolate covered cherries) they get a solid five. In future attempts I might try adding an extra egg to the dough as coming out it was kind of dry, but then I'd worry they might fall apart after a couple days because as-written after sitting the cherry kind of settles into and makes the cookie moist. It'll probably be decided by the timeframe I'll be serving: these are for the holidays so I appreciate the heartiness. I did pipe the icing on before baking as written with no problems. Piped, not spooned, which in hindsight created more work and didn't really look any better IMO. The icing isn't strongly cherry flavored, but it tastes rich and fudgy which I think pairs better with the whole cherry in the cookie so I won't make any changes there either. A definite repeat recipe, thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MK!
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very yummy! As many suggested, I cut the "frosting" in half and frosted the cookies after they came out of the oven... I still had leftover frosting (but I didn't spoon on, I made the zig-zag design - which was messy! but fun to do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States