Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I always follow a recipe exactly the first time I make it and then adjust. I thought the flavor was great. However, as I was making these I was concerned there was too much flour and indeed they came out dry. I will definitely make these again but with less flour. 1 cup to possibly 1 1/4 cup flour would be more than enough for the amount of butter and eggs. Like others said I will probably add more cherry flavoring. Otherwise, this is a great new recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Im giving 5 star for taste because these cookies are very good. But i had some prob with the frosting. I think its better to frost after baking, because my frosting melted & created a mess on the cookie sheet. So its better to frost post-bake. Also, will reduce the baking time to abt 8 minutes. but all in all they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sembawang, North Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These cookies are sooo good! I brought them into work and everything loved them!! I made a couple of changes. I put 1 tsp of cherry juice into the dough and doubles the amount of cherry juice in the drizzle. I also halved the drizzle, except the cherry juice, because it yeilded too much. A couple suggestions: 1. do not make an indent, just press the cherry in the center 2. add the drizzle after the cookies come out. I think they taste better the second day! I have already passed this recipe off to two others! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I am so in love with these cookies!! I made this for Christmas about 6 times. Everyone that has them wants the recipes. I can't wait until I can make them the next time and eat a couple!!! Like all cooks I made a couple changes. I use cherry extract instead of vanilla, so you will have more of the cherry taste. It really does make a difference. In the icing I use the whole cn of condesed milk, add more cherry extract and extra cherry juice from the can. I mean about 1/4 cup or more. The more you use the more cherry and chocolate taste you will get. I also put the chocolate over the cookies to bake (on that baking paper, they will make a mess), then when they are done about 15 to 20 minutes later. (they take longer to cook then stated) I let them set on pans for 3 to 5 minutes then pour more chocolate over the cookies. Let set out for couple hours or more and let cool and set. Save the extra chocolate and you can always use more if you would like. Then enjoy!! These really are now my favorite cookies now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These are great! I've been making a similar recipe from the BH&G cookbook for years. My only complaint is that there is too much frosting. I did like another reviewer suggested and added another tsp. frosting after they came out of the oven. I still have some left over, but I think it will make a nice ice cream topping! I used an 1/8 cup measure to divide the dough up and I came out with exactly 18 cookies. They are delicious with a wonderful cherry flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These are great, but one caution no one mentioned. Do not let the frosting touch the ungreased cookie sheet! It will cook on like cement! Do save some frosting for after they come out of the oven. Keep cookies small so they don't break. Ultra yummy and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Awesome! I honestly don't like chocolate covered cherries--I made them for my husband because he does. But these cookies were great! I added about 1/4 cup of cherry juice to the dough to make it a little more workable--it was a bit too stiff without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This are definitely better with marshmallows instead of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Everyone LOVES these cookies, my mom made them every Christmas when I was growing up but I had written her recipe down wrong so it didn't work but this is it. The best cookies ever (and cookies aren't my favorite thing)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were pretty good. I some issues with the icing--kept having to add extra juice because it kept clumping and couldn't seem to get the right consistency. The cookie itself though is fantastic. Tastes like a moist and delicious brownie. I would never sub in marg or anything for the real butter. I am thinking about using the cookie dough recipe, omitting the cherry stuff and adding chocolate chips for a super chocolately cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States