Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Chocolately - Sweet - and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Overall, a good cookie. Certainly a pretty presentation! We did 2 versions: one with the cherry baked on top, the other with the cherry added after baking. A mellower flavor baked on, but not nearly as pretty. I loved how bright the cherry was when it wasn't baked, but some people might not love the flavor as much...so it's all a matter of preference. Also, we used a half cherry on each. And there is WAY more icing than you need... which can be used for other treats (ice cream topping?!?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
To be honest, these look better then they taste. They don't taste bad, just bland. I did add extra cherry juice to the frosting as well as to the cookie itself but it is still pretty bland. I'd make these again but might experiment with a different flavour extract.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I'm kinda famous for these in my x's family....tis the season? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made these just as the recipe says except that I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. These are my new favorite cookies!!!! I put the chocolate icing on before as well as after baking and they are so gooey and very chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I added an egg for additional moistness and I think the cookies would have been too dry without it, because they still weren't as moist and chewy as I was hoping. Next time, I might use oil instead of butter. The cookies themselves were not very sweet at all, so I would not recommend omitting the frosting. I piped my frosting AFTER baking and added more cherry juice, which still wasn't quite as cherry-y as I would prefer. Since these were going to have to travel in a container with other baked goods, I added a few tablespoons of powdered sugar to my frosting mix to make it thicker. Just make sure the frosting is mixed totally smooth and lump-free prior to piping. Will make again, but I'll be making more tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The dough tastes great (they're in the oven right now). There is WAY too much sauce. Cut it down to 25% (1/8 cup of condensed milk and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Adding the extra egg makes a big difference. As does adding about 1/8c. of cherry juice to the cookie dough. Another way I make these is: You can chop up the cherries and put them right into the cookie dough. I also add finely chopped walnuts. Then make small balls and roll them in confectioners sugar. Make an indent in the cookie and fill it with the icing. Ohhh YUMM! This cookie has it ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
these received 2 thumbs up from all my official cookie testers. The second time I made them with white chocolate chips and it was a winner too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Loved these. Want to save money but still have great cookies? eliminate the melted chocolate/sweetened condensed milk and cut the cherries in half. Think of it with the full cherries and chocolate as great when you want almost a truffle, and if you want a cookie instead you can go lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States