Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have tasted many of these cookies over the years at cookie swaps etc... They are beautiful... BUT... I have never really liked them because they were always dry tasting. So this year I decided I would make an attempt at making this cookie for my Christmas parties. After mixing up the dough as written my dough was very thick and very dry. I panicked because I didn't want a dry cookie so I changed up the recipe a little. I am very pleased with the end results. I came up with the following. I added almond flavoring in place of vanilla. I added about a 1/2c. or so of cherry juice to the batter. I didn't measure. The batter was really dry before I added the cherry juice. Now my dough is sticky! Then I used a small stainless steel scoop and made little chocolate mounds on my cookie sheet. Then I pushed a cherry in the top. When pushing the cherry it flattens the mound a tiny bit. I crossed my fingers that they hold their shape while baking and didn't run everywhere. Wha-la!!!! They were perfect! I let them cool a little on the stone I cooked them on, then transfered to a cooling rack. When completely cooled I made the icing. I did add cherry juice to it as well probably a 1/4 to 1/2 cup. I didn't measure. The icing was still a good consistency, not runny. I poured it into a squeeze bottle after I melted the icing ingredients on my stove top. It was very easy to drizzle the icing on my cookies using a squeeze bottle. The end result was fantastic. They look beautiful. They are mo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was excellent- they came out perfect. I did do the one thing that others suggested and that was filling the hole with frosting before topping it with the cherry. I did not drizzle additional frosting on top when it came out because the frosting never got very hard and I would not have been able to stack them in the cookie tin. They were excellent and will make for my next cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I'd like to start by saying I love these cookies! I just made them and by using two teaspoons of dough per cookie I got 40 cookies which turned out to be the perfect size. When making the hole, I made it only wide enough for the cherry to fit but fairly deep. I filled the whole 2/3 of the way with the chocolate sauce using a squeeze bottle and then placed the cherry over the sauce and baked. After they cooled I decorated with stripes and it was the perfect look. Hint: When using a plastic squeeze bottle with the chocolate, microwave for 12 seconds for ease. Thank you for a fantastic holiday cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
While this recipe is great as is, I've made a "cheater" version with Hershey's Cherry Cordial Kisses. (Freeze the candy first - very important.) Make the dough as is, but roll into balls and place in mini muffin tin. Bake 7 - 8 min. Take out of the oven and immediately press a kiss into the cookie. I've made these with the Cherry Kisses, Carmel Kisses and even Reese's Cups. While my review offers an alternate version, my rating applies to the original version. I will say that the picture with this recipe isn't accurate. The icing in the pic is drizzled on and the cherry is visible. Following the recipe, the entire cherry is covered with the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Insanely good! So glad I doubled the cookie recipe (kept the icing at original recipe size)!! Did add the extra egg, did half white / half brown sugar, added a tsp of Almond Extract, and added some cherry juice into the cookie batter (didn't measure, just poured it on it). For the icing, I used a full half cup of cherry juice. As for the cherry itself: I rolled the dough into a ball, flattened it and made an indent with my thumb. Dropped a bit of icing there, to hold the cherry in place - and baked. Then, I did put icing into a baggie and piped it onto the baked cookies. These are going to "WOW" the staff for the Teacher Appreciation Dinner this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
These cookies turned out to be a huge hit. I will be making these again, but next time I will make half as much frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made these for hubby on Valentines Day and he absolutely loves them. Too rich for my taste, but shared them with the neighbors and they loved them too. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These are so fantastic. Cutting the icing recipe in half is a must. I put the icing on under the cherry to make them more attractive. Then I put the left over icing in a ziplock bag and cut off the tip and drizzled stripes on the top which makes for a much prettier cookie. They taste like chocolate covered cherries. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Great recipe! I used fresh-picked pitted sweet cherries which lent a "Black Forest Cake" flavor to the cookies. Other changes I made to the recipe were: 1)used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar (instead of 1 cup white), 2) added 2 tbsps of sweetened condensed milk to cookie recipe 3)used milk chocolate chips for the glaze, 3)I placed a couple of chocolate chips on the top of the cookie before baking, 4)pressed the cherries into the cookies (and glazed them) AFTER baking, 5)cooled the cookies completely before glazing, 6)added 1/2 tsp almond flavoring and 2 tbsp fresh-squeezed cherry juice to the glaze. I doubled the cookie recipe but kept the glaze recipe single, which was the perfect amount of glaze. Double cookie recipe yielded 54 incredibly delicious brownie-like cookies. The family loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Try pouring cherry juice over unbaked cookies and the chocolate after they have been cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States