Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These cookies are the absolute best!!! I will make these again and again!!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!! I didn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Really yummy! I used maraschino cherries and canned unsweetened cherries as an experiment. The unsweetened I preferred the flavor (tart) but the maraschino are much prettier because of their bright red color. I halved the chocolate topping sauce and used a cake decorating bag to squeeze strings of chocolate over the top, as shown in the main picture, instead of a dollop of sauce which looked ugly to me. Ended up with a lot of the topping sauce left over as a result. Very pretty cookie doing it this way, and everyone loved the flavor. Next time I will try dried cherries also, as I prefer a tart cherry flavor over the super sweetened maraschino.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These were delicious and pretty easy to make. I did add a little melted butter to the dough mix to make it a little easier to work with. It seemed to be very crumbley without it. Other than that, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These cookies are great - we love them! A word of caution, however - make sure to only drizzle a little bit of the chocolate sauce over the cherry if you are going to do it before baking. We made the mistake of drizzling too much and it got all over the pan and then the cookies stuck. On our second batch we tried just a little drizzle only on the cherry and it turned out beautifully! Next time I think we are going to wait to drizzle the sauce until after the cookies have baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
WOW,THESE THINGS ARE SOOOOOOO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have made these for years. It is my daughter in laws favorite cookie. She MUST have them on every holiday and birthday. She is a good baker also, but says they taste better when I make them. LOL. One of the best and I have hundreds of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
These cookies are very good. Very chocolately. But I don't think they taste like chocolate covered cherries all that much (so I took away a star). The dough scared me a little because it didn't want to come together at first and looked very dry and crumbly, but after a bit more mixing, it turned into a nice, soft dough that formed easily into balls. The picky hubby approves, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These are very good. I followed the advice of another reviewer and added an extra egg to make them more creamy. I also put some frosting in the hole before putting the cherry in, then drizzled more on top after they cooled. They look great on a cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have tasted many of these cookies over the years at cookie swaps etc... They are beautiful... BUT... I have never really liked them because they were always dry tasting. So this year I decided I would make an attempt at making this cookie for my Christmas parties. After mixing up the dough as written my dough was very thick and very dry. I panicked because I didn't want a dry cookie so I changed up the recipe a little. I am very pleased with the end results. I came up with the following. I added almond flavoring in place of vanilla. I added about a 1/2c. or so of cherry juice to the batter. I didn't measure. The batter was really dry before I added the cherry juice. Now my dough is sticky! Then I used a small stainless steel scoop and made little chocolate mounds on my cookie sheet. Then I pushed a cherry in the top. When pushing the cherry it flattens the mound a tiny bit. I crossed my fingers that they hold their shape while baking and didn't run everywhere. Wha-la!!!! They were perfect! I let them cool a little on the stone I cooked them on, then transfered to a cooling rack. When completely cooled I made the icing. I did add cherry juice to it as well probably a 1/4 to 1/2 cup. I didn't measure. The icing was still a good consistency, not runny. I poured it into a squeeze bottle after I melted the icing ingredients on my stove top. It was very easy to drizzle the icing on my cookies using a squeeze bottle. The end result was fantastic. They look beautiful. They are mo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was excellent- they came out perfect. I did do the one thing that others suggested and that was filling the hole with frosting before topping it with the cherry. I did not drizzle additional frosting on top when it came out because the frosting never got very hard and I would not have been able to stack them in the cookie tin. They were excellent and will make for my next cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States