Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
O...M...G... These are absolutely sinful and I normally don't like choc cookies. I've already made my 2nd batch in two days. I ran out of cherries and used two blueberries on a cookie and they were awesome, too! I didn't taste the cherry juice in the icing, and kept adding more juice to get it, but no luck. I wish I read the reviews first; I'll try adding some cherry juice to the dough. I also advise doubling the dough--you'll make the 2nd batch anyway! Because of the excess icing, I decided to make batch #2. I added more cherry juice to the icing, but I think it was too much. My cookies ended up spreading a lot, and the only difference was the icing. I tried one, though, and they're just as good!!!!! THANK YOU for this recipe! These are AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These are good, but don't seem to be the best tasting. I like the idea of cookies tasting like chocolate-covered cherries, but the cookie just doesn't have the best chocolate flavor. Rather bland in my taste. Don't think I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
this is an awesome cookie! I filled the hole with icing then put the cherry in and drizzled the icing on, they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These are wonderful. I placed the frosting on top to cover the cherry and they are great. As other's have said you do not need all the frosting. Double the batter recipe, buy extra jar of cherries but don't double the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I loved these and pushed them on everybody! And everyone liked them! My boyfriend tried a variation on them with pineapple instead of cherries, and that was good too! I only used about half as much of the coco powder, so they wouldn't be as rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These are by far the best cookies on my Christmas gift plates this year! I followed others advice and I used less dough per cookie. I thought they were prettier and more "bite sized" that way. Also, I saved some chocolate to drizzle on top just for the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These were really good. I found the batter kind of dry so I added some of the cherry juice. The chocolate sauce does make a lot. I added too much juice to it so it was kind of runny, but otherwise they turned out really well. Kind of tasted like brownie chocolate covered cherries. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These cookies are Deeelicious! We are peanut butter fanatics, so I have this suggestion. Cream one cup of powdered sugar with one cup of creamy peanut butter until well blended. Form the mixture into 1" balls and place one ball into the middle of the cookie before baking. Yummmmm!!! ********** (ten stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These cookies are the absolute best!!! I will make these again and again!!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!! I didn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Really yummy! I used maraschino cherries and canned unsweetened cherries as an experiment. The unsweetened I preferred the flavor (tart) but the maraschino are much prettier because of their bright red color. I halved the chocolate topping sauce and used a cake decorating bag to squeeze strings of chocolate over the top, as shown in the main picture, instead of a dollop of sauce which looked ugly to me. Ended up with a lot of the topping sauce left over as a result. Very pretty cookie doing it this way, and everyone loved the flavor. Next time I will try dried cherries also, as I prefer a tart cherry flavor over the super sweetened maraschino.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States