Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
These cookies are absolutely scrumptious! Very rich and chocolately which is exactly what I was looking for. Didn't change a thing. Made these for Christmas and expect they will make it to my baking list next year! Thanks Jaime. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This cookie is probably a 5 star cookie if the recipe is followed. I took the advice of some of the reviewers and things didn't turn out so well! First-a second egg will make these cookies more cake like. I made a double batch using 4 eggs and did not like the texture of the cookie at all! Second-definately put the cherry into the cookie before baking! I tried both ways, before and after. You will get a better looking cookie if you put it in before baking. I put 1/2 cherry into the center of each cookie-no thumbprint. The whole cherry was overwelming to the cookie. Third-I iced my cookies after baking. The icing never dried- that must be the reason for baking the icing with the cookie! I made a double batch of cookies and a single batch of icing and still had way too much icing. I used a metal spoon and slowly drizzled the icing over the cookies. On my first batch of icing, I used evaporated milk-big mistake! The cookies did turn out beautiful and tasty. I'm hoping the icing will dry with time. They have been done for 1/2 hr. I will use the leftover icing as a topping for ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These are great! I did make some changes though. I didn't feel like doing the frosting, so I added chocolate chips to the batter, instead. When they were cool, I dusted them with powdered sugar. This really made them look festive, for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
yummy! Used for cookie exchange 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
i really really wanted to like these cookies- i came across the recipe on xmas eve and even trekked to to grocery store at the last minute to pick up the cherrie... i added an extra egg and a splash of cherry juice to the batter, but kept everything else as written- my cookies came out dry and they didnt even spread :( the chocolate cherry icing for these somewhat saves them, but not nearly enough for me to ever make again, nonetheless serve to company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
If there were more than 5 stars, this would get them all! So easy, they look harder than they are, and so good and so impressive! I cover my cherries totally with the frosting, keeps the cherry from drying out that way. They're always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by KATH1973
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATH1973

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TXUKGal
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Love these! I made these twice in just as many days. I used maraschino cherries and also multi-coloured glace cherries. The maraschino's were the best. I also covered the cherry with chocolate as well as just putting chocolate stripes on some. I think leaving the cherry uncovered makes the most attractive cookie. I also did some with a combo of white choco and dark choco accents. These are def one of my new fav cookies! One little note, initially I thought the 9 servings meant I would only get about 9 or so cookies but I anaged to get 3-4 dozen out of the recipe. So not sure exactly what's considered a serving size with this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I felt compelled to rate this recipe because of all the great reviews it received. First off - the recipe is very poorly written and I'm surprised it passed the All Recipes review process - the yield states 18 cookies? I got 5 dozen - and followed the receipe exactly as written. They taste like a mediocre chocolate cookie with a cherry stuck in the middle. I used Ghirardelli cocoa and that didnt' help at all. The frosting makes ENTIRELY too much - I have at least a cup and half left over. The cookies stick to the sheets if even a drop of the frosting overflows and the cookie then falls apart. You might want to mention that they need to cool for a minute or two before attempting to remove them at all - but don't let them cool too much or they will stick to the pan and fall apart when trying to remove them. Horrible recipe and a very bland cookie. Sorry but this is the worst recipe I've ever tried from this site and I've used this site almost daily for close to 8 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great recipe!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States