Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I have made a recipe similar to this for some years but tried this and it worked great. It is not a difficult recipe, but you should plan on taking some time out to make them, or do as I did and wrap and freeze the cherries one day and then dip another. In order to make sure that the batter does not stick, you must make sure to drain your cherries VERY well, and if need be, dust your hands with powdered sugar as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
these were so good! so easy to make... i made a few changes to the recipe.. i halved it because i made way too many the first time around... i also found the first ones a bit sweet/rich, so i added about half the juice from one of the jars of cherries.... this made the dough alot stickier so make sure to powder your hands well with sugar! they froze just fine though.. the finished product was alot smooth and less "make your teeth hurt' sweet.. i think they will melt better, too when stored... all in all a delish recipe! oh, and used 4 cups of chocolate chips instead of two and i omitted the shortening, i just had no need for it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
WONDERFUL!!! I am so sorry that the first review is so negative. These will become a holiday tradition at this home! Two minor suggestions for anyone nervous about trying these. First don't melt the butter to mix with the corn syrup, let sit at room temperature until very soft. Next, keep your hands dusted with powdered sugar as you roll the fondant around the cherry. The cherry juice tends to leak out fo the cherry and may make the fondant sticky. WONDERFUL *******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I had so many problems with this recipe! The fondant was sticking to my fingers so much that it was impossible to roll the cherry in the center. I tried wetting my hands but that just made the fondant thin. Also, when I melted the Toll House chocolate chips and butter, the chocolate became a big ball of gunk. My batch went to the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This is the best recipe for chocolate covered cherries that I've found! I love making them in advance and freezing the dough-covered cherries. I pull out as many as I need and dip them in chocolate for a very FRESH flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
These were great! A huge hit, especially during the holidays. The first review may be negative because they didn't weigh the powdered sugar? I had no problems. In future I would temper the chocolate though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
These turned out great! They reminded me of the "Sees Candy" that my family used to make, only no coconut, just a cherry in the middle. My 8 year old daughter enjoyed rolling them with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
I needed more chocolate than recipe called for so substituted the chocolate chips with Ghirardelli candy making double chocolate dipping bar...much easier to work with than the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
the recipe calls for too much milk, unable to mold around cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-89 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States