Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is the best! I have made about 8 dozen cherries this year off one recipe of this fondant! I agree with the other reviewers that spraying your hands with cooking spray helps tremendously! I use the butter flavor...it adds more to the recipe I think! Also it's easy to make a jar and freeze them until your ready to dip. I hope you and your family enjoys this recipe as much as my family does! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I really really really wanted to love these. I was excited about making my Mother chocolate covered cherries for part of her Christmas present, they are her favorite. Perhaps I can try these again and tweak them a bit, I think perhaps if I got less fondant on the cherries they would turn out better. I have had mine sitting for two weeks and they are nice and gooey in the very center only, it was just hard to get less fondant on the cherries. And it took a LOT more chocolate to coat than the recipe calls for, I might try again. They turned out very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Absolutely amazing. I halved the recipe for the dough and had just enough to cover all of the cherries! DEFINITELY keep spraying your hands with Pam or something while you're wrapping the cherries. After about seven cherries, I had to stop, run warm water over my hands and spray them before doing more. That may seem time consuming, but in the long run, it's quicker, because the dough goes on with very little trouble. I put the wrapped cherries in the freezer for two days. I used a ton of chocolate to coat them. I mixed chocolates, too. I started with chocolate bark, eventually combined it with semi-sweet choco chips, and ended with semi-sweet and milk choco mixed together--turned out wonderfully! My brother was rendered speechless for about thirty seconds after eating the first one. And if you know my brother, you know that's a miracle;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I am giving this recipe 3 stars because if the time it takes. It is a rather involved candy. I don't know if I did something wrong but it took me 3 bags of chocolate to coat the cherries. Now for the good part, they taste great, look like a million and I will make again. My Husband thinks they taste wonderful. Give yourself enough time and work in a cool enviroment and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I made these tonight and they are excellent. Only thing I should of done before is to read the reviews, because I should of halved the dough part of it. I have a lot of that left and no cherries and no chocolate. It does take time to wrap the cherries but it is worth it. My husband already hid them so no one else can find them. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
FIRST AND FOREMOST THESE ARE EXCELLENT!!!! BUT, I SHOULD HAVE FOLLOWED ANOTHER REVIEWERS RECOMENDATION TO CUT THE RECIPE DOWN TO 1/4 OF WHAT IT IS WRITTEN. I HAVE ENOUGH FONDANT TO CIRCLE THE WORLD!!! I AM SICK OF WRAPPING THE CHERRIES BUT MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY WILL NOT LET ME STOP UNTIL I AM ALL DONE!!!! EXCELLENT CHRISTMAS GIFT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I didn't like the condensed milk taste with the cherries. When I make these now, I just use about 1/2 cup butter, melted, with about 1 - 2 teaspoons of almond extract (instead of vanilla) stirred into the butter, then and enough confectioner's sugar to make the 'dough' shapeable. I usually let them sit for three days for the inside to 'set'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
These are awesome little treats. Suggestions: cut the dough recipe into a fourth of what it is for the same amount of cherries. I had sooo much left over. Soak cherries in brandy overnight for a zing. Use dried cherries and fresh cherries for something different, they are all good! Use ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips for an expensive taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Fantastic recipe. Be sure to keep the dough thin around the cherries. Othewise you end up with very large, super-sweet cherry cordials. I also suggest chololate bark or candy melts in place of chocolate chips and shortening. Definately freeze the cherries prior to dipping. Everyone will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
It takes some time to make these, but is well worth the effort! I make them every year for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States