Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great recipe. I took another user's advice and soaked the cherries in port wine for two days. I found that the fondant part of the recipe made A LOT. I didn't use all of it. My step-father is going to LOVE these. He is a BIG fan of port and chocolate covered cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These are FABULOUS! Very time consuming, but worth it. They make a great gift. I used the stemmed cherries and it made them much easier to dip. I bet if someone had a chocolate fountain, that would make the dipping go much quicker. ALSO, to the review who said butter makes chocolate seize up, it is WATER that makes chocolate seize, not butter. Butter is fat and works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
You need a lot more chocolate. Very very good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynsma1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I changed several things.Almond for the flavoring. Dark chocolate bars 70% cocoa for the dipping and drizzled them with melted white chocolate. Now we are waiting for the magic to happen. Yes I have allready tried them who can resist? Thank You for giving me a recipe I am proud to share with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyjane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I have made this recipe a few times now - and it never, ever fails to impress. I don't care for cherries myself - so I've never tried them but you should see the reactions of my guests! They think I'm amazing! (and of course - It's rude to argue with your guests -ha). I've made these for in between the cupcakes on a "Wedding (cupcake)cake and also for some special anniversary and birthday celebrations around town. Last time I used real cherries (with pits) - and everyone still raved - but I have to admit it was a pain because I wa constanly telling people - Don't eat the pit! Anyways - A really beautiful and delicious recipe! I'd give 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schreiber, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I have made these several times. Everyone loves them, definately need more cherries & it is very messy & time sonsuming but it is well worth it. I also make them a week or 2 in advance so they have time to liquify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
These turned out wonderful. The only things that I would have done differently is to use a very thin layer of the findant, and make them several weeks in advance so that the fondant has enough time to disslove and form the juicy part in the middle. I think that I made mine too thick and it took thema while to for the juicy part. But they have been a big hit with family, friends, and co-workers for the past couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
These are great! I also halved the fondant and still had enough for 3 jars of cherries. I didn't think they were too sweet. I also needed more chocolate than the recipe called for. Freezing the fondand covered cherries helped but I also think it was harder to get a thin, even coating of chocolate on the cherry. I used a toothpick to dip but think I'll use a dipping fork next time. They are time consuming but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These candies are so delicious but they are also VERY VERY sweet. Next time I will only add a little of the fondant to the cherries instead of wrapping the whole thing. They also taste much better than the store bought ones and are quite easy to make, just a bit messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was a great recipe! I made some for my mom to take to a christmas party and used the rest as Christmas presents and sweet treats for my brother around the house. I halved the fondant and still made three jars of cherries. My advice would be to drain the cherries and set them on paper towel to remove exess moisture. I also froze the fondant coverd cherries for a few hours which helped. I used a toothpick to dip the cherries in the chocolate (which by the way you will need alot more of)This was a great recipe and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieeMonster13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States