Chocolate Covered Cherries II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I have made these for Christmas gifts two years in a row, and they turn out very well! It's worth the effort if you are a chocolate cherry lover, and it can be a fun assembly line candy to make with a friend. They really do need to sit for a couple weeks, though, to get that nice liquidy inside-- otherwise it's just a cherry wrapped in sugar paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These are better than store bought. My grocery store only had 10oz jars of cherries, so I bought two. The cherries were pretty small, so I was able to yield about 35 to 40 cherries out of the recipe. Also, I didn't have any almond extract, so I used vanilla. I made these on a Wednesday for Mother's Day that Sunday so they could sit for a few days and almost ate all of them. I will definately pass on this recipe. ***Warning*** I can't remember which brand of margarine I used the first time I made these, but the dough comes out different depending on the brand of margarine. Land of Lakes comes out pretty sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I had a lot of trouble working with these. STICKY! Everyone loved them...but I found them to be way too sweet!! A different recipe for the chocolate coating would help also, because the chocolate on it melted when left out for more than 5 minutes. Not pretty:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I taught a class for children's cooking and we did this recipe with 15 children. It was quick and so easy, all the kids loved it. Lots of smiles and sticky fingers... Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I have made these covered cherries for years now. If they are "gooey" drop some powdered sugar on them, or coat your fingers. Flower turns to a paste, so the cherries center won't melt down as they should. As for the coating, regular candy melts are the most sturdy. Tips on chocolate, 1. rapidly chill it, it stays shiny. It will look dull if hardened at room temerature (but DON'T over chill it, it will crack!). 2. NEVER melt directly on the stove! use a double broiler or in 30 second increments in a microwave, stirring in between segments (don't use glass bowls, plastic only) 3. Avoid moisture, water or condensation at all costs! It will make your chocolate thick and clumpy, not good to use or look at! 4. Whitish or "dusty" looking chocolate is not spoiled! It simply melted and reset too slowly. Thanks for sharing a splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
These are great, though I spiced mine up with ginger, cinnamon, and chili powder (I know that last ingredient sounds bizarre, but it adds a nice punch) and they were phenomenal! Thanks Arlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This recipe will do 2 (10 oz.) jars of cherries and it isn't necessary to knead it on the countertop, just knead it in the bowl. Lastly, it needs one more tablespoon of margerine. Remember to place them on waxed paper to cool once their dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These were a sticky mess to make but sooooo good. Made them for Valentine's day, but no one could wait the two week period and they were gone well before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
These are great! I have made them for Christmas gifts this year, and have sampled some myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSMORIN81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This is the best recipe I've found. It has made a great hit every where I brought them. Thanks Brenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States