Chocolate Covered Cherries II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I have made these for Christmas gifts two years in a row, and they turn out very well! It's worth the effort if you are a chocolate cherry lover, and it can be a fun assembly line candy to make with a friend. They really do need to sit for a couple weeks, though, to get that nice liquidy inside-- otherwise it's just a cherry wrapped in sugar paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These are better than store bought. My grocery store only had 10oz jars of cherries, so I bought two. The cherries were pretty small, so I was able to yield about 35 to 40 cherries out of the recipe. Also, I didn't have any almond extract, so I used vanilla. I made these on a Wednesday for Mother's Day that Sunday so they could sit for a few days and almost ate all of them. I will definately pass on this recipe. ***Warning*** I can't remember which brand of margarine I used the first time I made these, but the dough comes out different depending on the brand of margarine. Land of Lakes comes out pretty sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
These are really good. They are loved by everyone but are very sweet, almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENNMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
These are sooooo good! I just finished them up about half an hour ago and couldn't resit trying them. Yum! I made half of them with milk chocolate and half with white chocolate for a bit of variety. One thing I learned, when you heat up the chocolate, take it off of the heat or else it'll burn. Haha. I can't wait to give them to my mom who absolutely loves chocolate covered cherries. I'm sure they'll be even better in a week and a half. Thank you so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made these several weeks ago and they were just fantastic. I am going to make them again in the next week and give them away as part of the cookie trays that I am making. Alot of work but so, so well worth it! Thank you for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This recipe will do 2 (10 oz.) jars of cherries and it isn't necessary to knead it on the countertop, just knead it in the bowl. Lastly, it needs one more tablespoon of margerine. Remember to place them on waxed paper to cool once their dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I don't know why I made these. I don't even like choco covered cherries. But a lot of people do, so I made them to give as gifts at Christmas. I followed the recipe exactly, and I still have a bunch of it sitting in my cupboard four months later. Oh well. They looked really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These were a sticky mess to make but sooooo good. Made them for Valentine's day, but no one could wait the two week period and they were gone well before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
These cherries were just too sweet for me, and my friends, with whom I made the recipe, felt the same way. If I made them again, I would either use a darker chocolate and/or a different kind of cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I had a lot of trouble working with these. STICKY! Everyone loved them...but I found them to be way too sweet!! A different recipe for the chocolate coating would help also, because the chocolate on it melted when left out for more than 5 minutes. Not pretty:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States