Chocolate Covered Cherries II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Let them sit for a week or two...yum! But be sure to do it in the fridge, not the freezer. The yummy liquid won't happen if you have them in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This recipe is good but very sweet. Everyone that came over didn't wait for them to liquify inside. It is best to make sure these are well chilled so they don't melt when dipping them in the chocolate. I used almond bark since I think its easier to use than chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Fun to make. Just make sure you let them set for two weeks before eating. durning Halloween I add a little more of the sugar dough, squish is around and make it look like a mouse. add slivered almonds for ears. The kids just love them. can make them with the regular chocolate or the white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
i made these cherries for christmas last year everyone loved them i used rum extract instead of almond loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Definitely a crowd pleaser and fun to make. All of my coworkers beg me to make them for birthdays and celebrations. I made them for my father in law for Christmas one year and now I can't get away with not making them. The longer you let them sit in the fridge the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I have made these covered cherries for years now. If they are "gooey" drop some powdered sugar on them, or coat your fingers. Flower turns to a paste, so the cherries center won't melt down as they should. As for the coating, regular candy melts are the most sturdy. Tips on chocolate, 1. rapidly chill it, it stays shiny. It will look dull if hardened at room temerature (but DON'T over chill it, it will crack!). 2. NEVER melt directly on the stove! use a double broiler or in 30 second increments in a microwave, stirring in between segments (don't use glass bowls, plastic only) 3. Avoid moisture, water or condensation at all costs! It will make your chocolate thick and clumpy, not good to use or look at! 4. Whitish or "dusty" looking chocolate is not spoiled! It simply melted and reset too slowly. Thanks for sharing a splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Very good and not too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
The base for this recipe is good. The icing sugar fondant that is used to roll around the cherries is very good, but the chocolate chips around the outside make it overly sweet. I would say that using a dark chocolate would be much better than using a milk chocolate. A correctly tempered high quality chocolate makes these candies divine, and they wont melt on you like chocolate chips will. It gives them a hard shell - these are especially good when rolled in some crushed hazlenuts when the chocolate is still wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Goderich, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia J.
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My fondant wasn't sticky, it was simply gooey. I had to add a ton of flour and put it in the fridge to be able to work with it. Then, I found out that heating chocolate on "medium heat" is a bad idea. I ended up melting chocolate disks because I didn't want to waste my time trying again. Personally, I thought they were too sweet. However, both of my parents insist they taste like store-bought chocolate covered cherries, so I suppose that's a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Made these for my New Year's Eve Party. Although VERY sticky to make, they came out great and fans of chocolate covered cherries loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States