Chocolate Covered Cherries II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These are a little time-consuming to make, but they are very tasty! I made them for a Christmas party and everyone raved about them! They can be made ahead of time, too, which is a big help around holiday time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I've made these twice with great results both times. I found that refrigerating the white mixture for a few hours makes it easier to work with, then freezing the coated cherries before dipping in the chocolate keeps the white mixture from getting gooey in the warm chocolate. Then pop them back in the fridge for awhile and they'll be beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I have made these for the last few years for my family at Thanksgiving and Christmas. While they can take a bit of work, they are absolutely fantastic and well worth the effort. Last Thanksgiving my uncle even had me put several aside just for him, and he hid them in his bedroom! Getting ready right now to make the batch for Thanksgiving, as the OP is right. It is better to wait a few weeks and let them sit to get the perfect taste and consistency. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have made these for years and have tried many different tips listed below. I even do these with friends every year we do about 350 cherries in one night. The recipe is a guide of course but haven't used it in many years First if you are doing alot get a large jar from Sams.The jar is around 10.00 and there are 150 or so cherries in the jar. I do use some cherries juice in my fondante sometimes and nead my powdered sugar in and then chill.When rolling my cherries I use powdered sugar on my hands and wax paper.I make a small ball and flaten it out in my hand and wrap my cherry.You will have to just wing that one it took me awhile to learn how to do that a few failed attempts is expected.After so many years of doing this I have gotten quite fast at doing it.Chill your cherries after they are rolled. Oh yes only drain a few cherries at a time or you will not get a juicy cherry and the center will not disolve as well. Chill the rolled cherries or put them in the freezer for a few minutes. I don't chill them as long as directed but my cholocate isn't as hot and I do it very quickly and dip them twice at one time if that makes since and put them on wax paper lined cookie sheets to dry.I will say if you can leave them in the fridge for a month they will almost be liquid in the center. These are wonderful gifts if they like chocolate covered cherries they will expect them each year.I use Dark Chocolate chips only Semi is too sweet.Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
These are wonderful and very easy to make. I made one small change. I used the liquid from the cherries instead of the milk. My husband loved them. I will never buy the boxed ones again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
What am I doing wrong. My cherries wrapped in the nuget look great, but I can't seem to get them dipped. I can do a few, then the chocolate gets thick. I have my cherries frozen...should I let them thaw first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I've been using this recipe for a few years now and it is always a hit. One easy step to help your fondant be a little less sticky is to chill it before you use it. I also find that just pinching off a bit and molding it around the cherry is easier than trying to roll it out on a counter. Another reviewer also mentioned using powdered sugar to prevent sticking on the counter. Good idea, flour is not good for these delicious candies! Lastly, I use candy coating and chocolate chips together. A ratio of 2-1 works (candy coating -choc chips) quite well. A quick chill to set the chocolate and then one or two weeks at room temp is perfect. I hide mine in a cake pan with a lid so no one is tempted to snitch before they're ready! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Absolutely the best chocolate covered cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rally Crew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mystic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made to try at home before I made them as a gift for my mother inlaw. They turned out great. So next I doubled the recipe and decided to soak half the cherries in spiced rum and the other half I made without. I soaked the rum ones for 4 days to make sure they had a punch than made as written. I love both ways. My mother in law loved them too Thanks for such a fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I didn't have any corn syrup which is what my usual recipe calls for, so I was looking for one without it and I found this one, it tasted soo good! I especially liked the almond extract it called for, it gave it a nice flavor. I will store some away for a week or two so that I can enjoy them when the cherries have ripened and the white coating is nice and runny, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States