Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These taste just like the ones from the box...except even better. The filling was just enough for me to make two dozen. I coated them with milk chocolate instead of the confectioners' coating. They taste so great the first day; It's hard to believe but they are even better as they sit several days and let the center soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were fantastic! I made two dozen for our family get-together and came home with one left. The second time I made these I added a little vanilla and will do so from now on. I don't get how this recipe yields 60 cherries though. I used a teaspoon and had to double the filling to get enough for my two dozen. Maybe I used too much? Either way, these are much better than anything you can buy at the store. So glad to have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliCat28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Wow, these were awesome. They taste just like the store bought ones. I used melted milk chocolate chips for the outer coating instead of the confectioner's coating and they turned out perfect. They do take almost a week to get "juicy" inside, so it's best to wait until then to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by italiangirl
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
DELICIOUS! Please note that they do get better the longer they sit. The first night I didn't think they were very good but several days later they were a hundred times better! We made them for Christmas baskets and everyone was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
this did not work, the inside part didn't dough up and it was a mess, and it all went down hill from there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are fantastic! One word of advice, I kept mine in the 'fridge for a week, and the insides did not melt. However, after storing them in an airtight container in the kitchen for 3 days, the humidity did it's trick to make them gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are amazing. I made things a lot easier on myself by buying the Wilton chocolate melting pot that is sold in the candy making section of Michaels. I also bought the real wilton melting chocolate that is also used in the chocolate fountain. They came out INSANELY good and I sold over $200 worth this Christmas season. Also, I found the jumbo cherries and used those, they are much larger, and there are not stems. I covered some in white, some in dark and the rest in regular milk. Will definitely use this recipe next christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I just made these for the first time. The recipe was easy to follow. The dough was a little messy to work with, you will want to make sure that you add a little oil to your hands. This made it so much better. I will be making these for years to come. They are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I have been making these for a couple of years now. Make sure that the cherries are drained quickly but not dried and the fondant layer is thin if you want it to liquefy. Chilling between the fondant step and the dipping step helps stop leaking, otherwise take a knife and spread a little more on the bottom after the chocolate sets. I always do one jar regular and one jar where I replaced the juice with dark rum a week before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I'm guessing the 1 gallon jar of maraschino cherries with stems is about 300 to 400 cherries. I made 3 different batches with different flavours (plain, rum, almond). Each batch wrapped 50 cherries using 1 level tsp of fondant. I put each tsp of dough in between 2 pieces of waxed paper and using the flat bottom of a glass, pressed out to about 2" disc. I wrapped the fondant around the cherry and rolled between my palms, even with the stem on, then I froze. The frozen cherry was easy to dip using the stem, then I twirled the cherry to remove excess chocolate. Only 2 stems (out of 150) broke off using this method. Even when putting the dipped cherries on waxed paper on top of a frozen plate, they still needed to be double dipped on the bottom. I'll be using candy cups from now on to shorten this process. Adding shortening to pure milk chocolate will make the chocolate super soft which was OK but the cherries cannot touch each other because they'll stick together. Whoever said the juicier the cherry the better was correct. The rum batch where the cherries sat out drying the longest have a crystally sugar consistency rather than a softer juicier center. Though if the cherry is too wet it's really hard to wrap. Great recipe Meredith. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States