Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Chill metal cookie sheet and cover with parchment paper to chill cherries after dipping in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is one of my most requested candies at Christmas. LOVE to soak cherries in coconut rum overnight or add raspberry oil to confectioners sugar as change ups in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Instead of the "dough" I use almond paste. Wrap the cherry with the paste and dip into hot chocolate using stem. The longer they cure the better. Once opened up you will be surprised to see a liquid filling and the taste is out of this world!!!!I make these babies in November for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe works great, but NOT as is! I had to knock a star off for that and the second I saw the pics I panicked about making these, as I usually make the fondant, but I wasn't in the mood to go through the trouble so I was looking for a recipe that had the creamy center without having to cook the fondant yourself. These are more sickeningly sweet, ESPECIALLY if they haven't liquidized yet! The trick to getting them to turn to liquid in this fondant is soaking them in liquor overnight the day before you make them. They turn out so juicy and heavenly! You can also customize them by changing up the liquors! Southern Comfort, Dragonfruit Bacardi, I have mine soaking in some Red Stag Black Cherry Bourbon Whiskey right now, and I will update with a photo when I can capture that liquid center of heaven everyone is complaining is missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Absolutely Amazing!!!! I don't like the cherries in the box at all. I LOvE these!!!! Everything is ALWAYs better when it's Homemade!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
These were great and so easy!! The only change I would make would be to use a substitute for butter. The butter flavor was not something I wanted to taste in my chocolate covered cherries. I also just melted chocolate chips in the microwave instead of confectioners coating because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Phenomenal recipe! You definitely have to keep the dough and cherries cold for better handling. I've also marinated the cherries in rum overnight (in the freezer) for a spiked chocolate covered cherry. Potent but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
these turned out pretty good although time consuming, i followed recimmendations to leave sit 2weeks to allow syrup to form inside, some weere perfect others were still a bit dry but overall they were a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I had never tasted a traditional chocolate covered cherry before, but my boss and mother in law both mentioned that these are their favorite candies sometime this past summer so I decided to go out on a limb and make these as Christmas gifts. Lucky for me both my boss and mother in law said they were perfect! I was unable to find cherries with stems (shame as it would have made dipping much easier!) but I did find a chocolate coating in a microwavable tray which made things a bit easier. One batch made ~30 cherries for me so I'll be sure to make a double batch next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I saw this recipe last year but had waited too late to prepare it for Christmas. Tried it this year ... wow! Better than the store bought candies. I didn't change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States