Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by UbeenShmaged
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very tasty, WAY too much work. These took forever and we're NOT worth the effort. Delicious. But way too much work. If I could go back in time, I'd make a gingerbread house instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I've been making these for several years now. After I drain the cherries I put them on a waxed paper lined cookie sheet in the freezer while the dough is chilling. I pat the chilled dough out in the palm of my hand with my thumb and I've found 55 cherries is about the right number for me. Then I put them back in the freeze before I dip them. As I dip them I put them back on the same frozen sheet maybe that's why I never have a problem with the bottom not being covered in chocolate. Also make sure to use real butter or the dough won't set up. One time I accidentally didn't use butter and the dough was just a sticky mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Chill metal cookie sheet and cover with parchment paper to chill cherries after dipping in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is one of my most requested candies at Christmas. LOVE to soak cherries in coconut rum overnight or add raspberry oil to confectioners sugar as change ups in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Instead of the "dough" I use almond paste. Wrap the cherry with the paste and dip into hot chocolate using stem. The longer they cure the better. Once opened up you will be surprised to see a liquid filling and the taste is out of this world!!!!I make these babies in November for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe works great, but NOT as is! I had to knock a star off for that and the second I saw the pics I panicked about making these, as I usually make the fondant, but I wasn't in the mood to go through the trouble so I was looking for a recipe that had the creamy center without having to cook the fondant yourself. These are more sickeningly sweet, ESPECIALLY if they haven't liquidized yet! The trick to getting them to turn to liquid in this fondant is soaking them in liquor overnight the day before you make them. They turn out so juicy and heavenly! You can also customize them by changing up the liquors! Southern Comfort, Dragonfruit Bacardi, I have mine soaking in some Red Stag Black Cherry Bourbon Whiskey right now, and I will update with a photo when I can capture that liquid center of heaven everyone is complaining is missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Absolutely Amazing!!!! I don't like the cherries in the box at all. I LOvE these!!!! Everything is ALWAYs better when it's Homemade!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
These were great and so easy!! The only change I would make would be to use a substitute for butter. The butter flavor was not something I wanted to taste in my chocolate covered cherries. I also just melted chocolate chips in the microwave instead of confectioners coating because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Phenomenal recipe! You definitely have to keep the dough and cherries cold for better handling. I've also marinated the cherries in rum overnight (in the freezer) for a spiked chocolate covered cherry. Potent but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
these turned out pretty good although time consuming, i followed recimmendations to leave sit 2weeks to allow syrup to form inside, some weere perfect others were still a bit dry but overall they were a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States