Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by SEXYTRACKR
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These were wonderful. A Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYTRACKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I love this recipe. It is a bit labor-intensive, but seeing my the look in my father's eyes everytime I present him with the fruits of this particular labor, I know it was time well-spent because he just adores Chocolate Covered Cherries and these are so much tastier than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbunnynoir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I just made these last night, and they look just like the picture! It took almost no time at all. I halved the recipe, and made use of the refrigerator in-between steps. By keeping the stems on the cherry while dipping, I got an almost perfect layer of chocolate. I pulled the stems out of the chocolate covered cherries after they were in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes. Only a small hole remained, and that and any cracking I covered with a drizzle of white chocolate, which makes them look extra fancy. They look so neat, I'm so excited to give them away! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
My hubby loves these. He is out of town 5 days and home for 3. The 3 days he is home he goes to NMU full time. I make him these just to let him know we are thinking about him and we love him. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandasimmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
WOW!!!! I never thought I would ever be able to make something so fancy looking and soooo close to the ones you buy at the store!! Everyone was sooo impressed. I only had 43 cherries but it was no where near enough even though I followed the 1 tsp per cherry!! So I ended up making another half batch, which guess what?...Still not enough for my 43 cherries! I ended up making only 38 cherries and it was really tight. I added almond extract to half the fondant and none for the other half. Both were amazingly good. I followed others suggestions and freezed the tray which I lined with parchment paper for easy cleanup. I then froze the fondant covered cherries on that tray b4 covering with chocolate (I used dark couverture chocolate, which are the flat rounds you find at bulk stores, these are the best for melting thin enough to cover things easily). So easy and fun, they weren't even that messy since they set up quite fast this way. I served them only 3 days later and they were sooo amazing! My mom HAD to call me and tell me how addictive they were and how everyone loved them. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These were amazing and not that hard to make. HELPFUL HINT: I put a baking sheet in the freezer for about an hour before I made these, then took it out and covered it with aluminum foil. When you put the dipped cherries on them, they cool instantly and don't leave the bottom of the cherry without chocolate. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I have tried several chocolate covered cherry recipes & this was the best. The mini paper cups are a great idea to put them in. We tried these throughout the entire 2 week "wait" time:0) We think they were best after 1 week & you need to be finished eating them at 2 weeks- 2 1/2 weeks. These are excellent & I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this for a christmas present for my mother and they were awesome. thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly
Living In: Kingwood, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I just made these yesterday, but tried one today (even though they are supposed to set for awhile), just to see how they tasted and they are delicious! Very easy to make, though pretty time comsuming, but worth the effort. I couldn't find the cherries w/ stems, so I just used regular cherries. To dip, I poked the chilled, wrapped cherry w/ a toothpick and dipped it into the chocolate, letting the excess drip off, and placed them on waxed paper to dry. Once dried, I drizzled them w/ additional chocolate to make them look pretty. I had no problems w/ leakage or anything, which was a good thing. I can't wait to try these once they have time to get all juicy! I will be using this recipe for my cherries from now on! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Great recipe! However, if you want it to actually yield 60 cherries, you'll have to use about 1/2 tsp of the dough to cover each cherry instead of 1 tsp. Also, take the other reviewers advice and put everything (the dough, the cherries, your spoon, the tray you'll put them on, everything) in the freezer for about 20 minutes before you try to wrap them and several times during the process as it all warms up again. Also, run your hands under cold water first and then handle the dough as little as possible as you flatten it out and wrap it up over the cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States