Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Great gift!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
good. I used milk chocolate buttons. They were easy and very good. Next time I would soad the cherries overnight in port or something like that. I think that would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Have made this the last few years and just getting around to rating it now. Wonderful treat! Tastes just like the kind you buy in the store. It is time consuming but knowing it's all fresh and hand made, makes it worth the time. Wonderful idea for gifts. I make a bunch of the filling in advance and just keep refrigerated and take it out as I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These are soooo good- but they definitely require some work! I used very small candy cups (like tiny cupcake baking cups) and placed a cherry in each after I had coated it with the chocolate. They came out just fine- no oozing out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were good but I don't think it was worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I love this recipe! So much better than the store bought kind and they're not hard to make. I did as the other reviewers suggested and put mine in the mini muffin foils. I also added a tbsp of Chambord to the sugar confection. I plan to try some other liquers next time I make these...and I will make them again! This year, I've made over 200. I chill the confection before coating the cherries, and chill them again before coating in the chocolate. I had no problems whatsoever doing it that way. I chose to use the mini foils and was glad that I had done that because they would have leaked like others had said. I may try putting a drop of chocolate on my wax paper before placing the cherries. I'm sure that would seal the bottoms just fine. Thanks for an amazing recipe!! I'll enjoy the compliments when I hand out these cherries! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made these last night to give as Christmas gifts to my father and brother. After wrapping the cherries in the sugar dough, I put the tray of them into the fridge for about half an hour. I melted 1 pound of dark chocolate candy melts with 1/8 pound of paraffin wax and then tempered the mixture with 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. The flavor of the coating was perfect and they set up beautifully. I double-dipped the cherries, then after removing the stems, I re-dipped the tops because several of them cracked as I was pulling the stems out. I don't personally care for this kind of candy, so I had my daughters each taste one to tell me if the flavor was close to what they sell in the stores. My older daughter said they were very close and my younger daughter said "Are you SURE you didn't get these out of a box from the store?!" I can't wait to see what my dad and brother think of them after they've ripened for two weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I have a very similar recipe. Only difference is the addition of 1 tsp. almond extract. I make these over a 2-day period. After draining I place (upside down) on a tray in the freezer for a few hours. Then I "wrap" cherries and place back in the freezer overnight. The next day I pull approx. 10 out @ a time and place a round toothpick in the center of each for dipping. As soon as the cherry is completerly covered and I let excess drip off, I place carefully on waxed paper. I immediately "twist" the toothpick out for drying and move on to the next. When dry I place in paper cups. The next morning (left @ room temp) there is sometimes a little "drop" of liquid resting on top. I think it adds a little "character" to the cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Fergen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I just finished makeing these. It is quite a job. Maybe I should have added a little more of the sugar so it wouldn't be so sticky, but I was afraid it would change the flavor. I havn't tasted them yet, got to let them "ripen" for a couple of weeks. I do think it is quite expensive, though, as you can buy them for $1.00 a box. Fun to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Drunken Cherries: Drain the cherry juice, let the cherries dry a bit on a paper towel, then fill the jars with Vanilla Vodka. (I also used Mango Liquor, Burbon and Brandy, in different jars.) Let them marinade for a bit, then make as the recipe says. I covered each in a different chocolate, decorated the tops with different sugars so everyone could tell which was which. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States