Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by m
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
They're all gone! I'll have to hide them next time until they can sit for a week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This recipe is awesome!! Although it did take me 4 days to make them beccause I a a new mommy, they are the best chocolate covered cherries I have ever had. To make it easier on myself i made the filling ahead and put it in the freezer to firm. I took 1 tsp of the chilled ( make sure its very firm) and rolled it into a ball, wrapped it around the stemless cherries and chilled till firm. I melted the chocolate in a doble broiler and lined a frozen baking sheet with mini cupcake liners I put 1/2 tsp melted chocolate in each liner then chilled till firm. Then placed chilled covered cherry on top then put 1 tsp melted chocolate on cherry and chilled until set. They have been sitting for a week now and are so juicy!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These were a HUGE disappointment! My family loves chocolate covered cherries so I made these for Easter. First of all, I made them a week ahead to give them time to set up. They never got gooey and the longer they sat the worse they tasted. Second, they were just a pain in the butt to make! Wrapping them and dipping them took a lot of time, plus I had to dip them twice. I will never make these again!:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
tasty. make sure not to leave holes when covering with chocolate. It will spring leaks easily. Do not leave sit for a couple weeks, as they leak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These weren't that hard to make for me! I used a bag of melted Hershey's semisweet minichips. I chilled the cherries and fondant (sp?) before wrapping them, then chilled them again on a cookie sheet covered with a layer of wax paper before dipping them, and right after dipping them I put them back on the cold cookie sheet with wax paper that had been in the freezer. It helped the chocolate set almost instantly. I had no problems with leaking and was able to mail them to my boyfriend 1000 miles away for Valentine's Day. He really likes them and so do I! I woudln't make these every week because they're a bit time consuming but they're great for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
A lot easier than i thought they would be. In two days they were the best and they were devoured by everyone. Will keep this recipe and make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiele Briscoe
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These turned out so good and were so easy to make. No one could believe that they didn't come from a gourmet chocolate store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made these to give as gifts to my friends for Valentine’s Day. These were very good and pretty sweet. I measured the dough into teaspoons and rolled into a ball before flattening with the bottom of a glass dipped in powdered sugar. This made it a uniform thickness and was perfectly round and wrapped around the cherries nicely. I was disappointed with the chocolate not having a shine to it. I think I will use Ghirardelli Candy Making & Dipping Chocolate next time - it tastes great, is wonderful to work with, and leaves a nice shine to the candy. It’s just hard to find unless it is Christmas time. Great recipe. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These are great! And easy too! My friends and I really enjoy eating these each year at Christmas time. I let mine sit in my pantry for a week or two and they get really nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
If I could give this ten stars I would. They are amazing! Alot of work but so worth the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States