Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very close to the recipe I used to use and lost.......my old one also had a bit of brandy in it so all I did was add a bit of brandy to the sugar filling on this one. One thing the recipe fails to emphasize is that you really do *need* to let these sit for a week or 2 for the centers to get the right consistency. I do remember that from past "cherry making"!! The title just "suggests" they are better that way. How I make them leak proof (if you want to bother with buying candy molds): I coat the mold with a layer of chocolate, put the cherry stuff in the middle and top off with more chocolate. Cool and pop out. They come out store-bought professional looking this way for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Batter tasted good but I should have planned ahead. These are not a make and go in a day candy. Still waiting for the final result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I have never made anything like this before but this was a very easy recipe and very good. I made a couple of modifications: First, I added about a teaspoon of almond flavoring to the batter. Second, I rolled the cherries in coconut after covering with the batter. They were very good. I think they tasted even better after sitting for about a week. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I am still in awe of these babies. Not being at all an over the top chocoholic I made these mainly to understand how they are made and gain some experince in working with chocolate. I wasn't at all concerned that I would eat too many. Well, was I wrong. It's going down as one of my best tasting experiences. One bite is all that was needed to have me gasping in culinary bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent. Made for Christmas and everyone raved - loved that there was no "chemical" taste like in store bought. Make sure the sugar coating is well chilled before dipping in chocolate, but very easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had a hard time finding the confectioner's coating, so I used Ghirardelli chocolate chips as suggested by another reviewer and used the dark chocolate. However, after a week or so they lost some of their shine. Next time, I'll use the Ghriardelli candy making & dipping chocolate (another reviewer's suggestion) instead. I'm hoping that will be more fool-proof and still taste great. I also left the stems on the first batch like the recipe says, but didn't like how the cherry juice leaked out at the stem. I took the stems off for the next batch, and used 2 forks to dip the cherries. Takes a bit of practice, but I was happy with the result. I still have to give this recipe 5 stars even though I didn't follow it exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These taste exactly like what you would you buy in a candy shop! I made exactly as written and they were perfect after two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
oh my gosh! These are decadent. I found that I can minimize leaving and "patch jobs" by putting the freshly dipped cherries onto a cookie sheet that I had put into the freezer for about half an hour. I also found that it was easier to make these if the stems are removed at the very beginning of the process. That seems counter-intuitive, but here's what I did. After dusting your hands with powdered sugar, get the right amount of fondant and roll it into a ball. Then press it into a disk and put a cherry in the middle, and wrap it up as well as you can. Then, roll the whole thing as if you were rolling the fondant into a ball again. This will help get even coverage. When dipping time came, I just stuck a fondue fork into the top and dipped. In hindsight, I think a skewer would have worked better, but the fork was handy. Once they were all dipped, I went over them with the semi-cooled chocolate with a pastry brush and voila. Then it was back to the freezer for 15 minutes, turned them over and went back at it with the pastry brush. Yes, these are a little time consuming. And yes, you have to wait a lot of time before you can even experience how wonderful they are, but for the love of all that is good in this world, they are so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
these are better than the bought ones-not as sweet. I used a mixture of semi sweet/ unsweetened dark chocolate to coat them. Next time I will chop up cashews to add to the chocolate-they will taste just like the "Blossom chocolate bar" Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is the BEST chocolate covered cherry recipe. I chill mine until firm and if its still too sticky I work in more powdered sugar. The trick is to not touch the cherry when you are wrapping it with the dough or your fingers will get all gummy and it makes a mess. I make this every year for Christmas and give away as gifts.My boss asked me if I would put them in a separate contained from the rest of th goody box this year. I asked her why and she said she was going to hide them from her husband. LOL Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States