Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good, but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
My husband and son love these. Going to make as a surprise, since you can only find them in stores at Christmas. I'll post my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
So i just finished making these and i tasted one and OMG these are delicious. It was a lot of work, but well worth every second, and man i love love love chocolate covered cherries these are as good as the box, but ill say better cuz i put in the hard work. i had more then enough of the filling to cover 60 cherries, i guess it depends on how much you are surrounding the cherry with, i even had a little left over probably enough to do 3 more cherries. i did dip half in chocolate bark and half in white cocolate, that was the only change i made. Things i did when i kneaded it into a ball i flattened the ball out so it could chill faster. i chilled the cherries after draining them and a half a hour before i covered the cherries , i put a cookie sheet topped with a silpat in the freezer. As i was covering the cherries with the filling, i would put them back in the freezer so they would be cold when it came time to dip. When i was done i looked at every one and patched up any holes i saw stuff seeping out of, i left the steams in. They are DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Oh my goodness, these were soooo incredibly delicious!!! These will be a part of my holiday baking from now on! No one could stop eating these once they started! The only thing I would emphasize is that it is very important to drop these in paper candy cups as soon as you've dipped them in the chocolate coating. I didn't do that. I just put them on waxed paper to harden. When I peeled them off the waxed paper, there was a little bare spot on the bottom of each of them where the chocolate hadn't covered the filling. As the juices from the cherries mixed with the filling in each candy, the delicious liquid leaked out. It made for a big mess. A yummy mess, but definitely a big yummy mess! :) I think dropping them into paper cups instead of onto the waxed paper would help to keep the juices contained within the chocolate shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
while the concept is interesting,will not make again. perfer to melt block chocolate and dip drained cherries right into the chocolate. I dry some of the juice off the cherries so the chocolate will adhere better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilysgranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I used the chocolate disks as other reviews suggested and found them at Micheal's. I placed the cherries in individual paper cups. After about 1 1/2 weeks the cherries were ready but well worth the wait. I was asked for the recipe by my neighbor she loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used 'satiny chocolate glaze' from this site and got rave reviews from my mother (a huge chocolate covered cherries fan) for her birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made this for Christmas to give as gifts. Everyone loved them over coconut balls, millionaires, and peanut butter balls. Used rasberry extract for flavoring. They were juicy in a couple of days, stored in refrigerator. Family wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'm not a fan of these, but everyone else who tried them said they were good. I followed reviews along with the recipe. I put each chocolate dipped cherry into a mini muffin liner before refrigerating. I also recommend to definitely refrigerate these for at least a day before dipping. Even then, some fell apart once it hit the melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Delicious.... but best after sitting for atleast 2 weeks at room temperature. Would like to know how to make it more like a cherry blossom with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States