Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
WeertyyiooooiuhhfffgghhgdawessdtggfsawAADDDDGHJKKJJNJJKJGGGGVGGHIHHV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I soak my cherries in bourbon for two weeks before making them. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lgregory1110
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My first attempt at making chocolate covered cherries! Halved the recipe to yield 30 cherries. Used pkg. semi-sweet morsels with 2 tbs of shortening. Dipped half of cherry to build bottom. Put in freezer for few minutes. Then dipped entire cherry. Repeated for triple dipped! Used skewer for dipping, covered hole and drizzled more chocolate over cherries. Kept on wax paper until done dipping. Places each in mini cupcake paper. Realized afterwards mini cupcake pan would be ideal to use for a formed base instead of allowing chocolate to spread on wax paper. Put In Airtight container in refrigerator. Will check after a week to determine if center is liquified. Great recipe. Can't wait to try one ~ but will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
No changes necessary, just use non stick foil and put in freezer on cookie sheet and all cherries are completely covered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
We made these for Chrismas and they turned out wonderfully. Per some of the suggestions, we made some modifications: Juisy cherries make a huge difference! We just drained ours and ran them lightly over a papertowel just before dipping. The sugar won't dissolve into a gooey filling without the juice. If you prefer a more solid center, then drain well. We found rolling the sugar filling into small balls and squishing them flat between wax papers with a glass bottom made it much easier to wrap each cherry individually. We placed each wrapped cherry on a chilled cookie sheet covered in wax paper to keep them chilled. After dipping, each cherry was placed in a mini candy cup to prevent leakage. They do leak somewhat unless you take extra time and care to redip each bottom. We then froze them over night to set them and then transferred to an air tight container and left in a cool place away from wandering children and husbands. After a week, the centers had liquified and tasted decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Wilber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UbeenShmaged
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very tasty, WAY too much work. These took forever and we're NOT worth the effort. Delicious. But way too much work. If I could go back in time, I'd make a gingerbread house instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I've been making these for several years now. After I drain the cherries I put them on a waxed paper lined cookie sheet in the freezer while the dough is chilling. I pat the chilled dough out in the palm of my hand with my thumb and I've found 55 cherries is about the right number for me. Then I put them back in the freeze before I dip them. As I dip them I put them back on the same frozen sheet maybe that's why I never have a problem with the bottom not being covered in chocolate. Also make sure to use real butter or the dough won't set up. One time I accidentally didn't use butter and the dough was just a sticky mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Chill metal cookie sheet and cover with parchment paper to chill cherries after dipping in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is one of my most requested candies at Christmas. LOVE to soak cherries in coconut rum overnight or add raspberry oil to confectioners sugar as change ups in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Instead of the "dough" I use almond paste. Wrap the cherry with the paste and dip into hot chocolate using stem. The longer they cure the better. Once opened up you will be surprised to see a liquid filling and the taste is out of this world!!!!I make these babies in November for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States