Chocolate Covered Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This isn't a review of this particular recipe but a tip on the chocolate. I recently found an Alton Brown recipe that suggested keeping your melted chocolate on a heating pad (the household, back pain kind!) and it works great! Just keep stirring the chocolate and it keeps it warm and pliable. Happy candy making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrod, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Not a very easy recipe. I used golden syrup bc I din't have corn syrup, and accidentaly I used 240 grams of butter, which was way too much; it wasn't mixed properly and I had to pour off the fat. Next time I will use 180 grams of butter. I like using my French recipe which uses cream instead of condensed milk. It makes the caramels much creamier. But this is a good replacement when I don't have any cream. In the beginning I did have ugly dark spots, as if the caramel was burnt, but later on it dissapeared. I always boil the mixture to 260 F, which makes the caramels quite hard. (which I like) This time I boiled to 150 F, which was really perfect, nice soft, chewy caramels! BUT they did stick, so I dusted them with cinnamon and honestly that was really good too! At the bottom of my baking tray, I put chopped walnuts, and poured the mixture over it. When the mixture was hard, I turned it and now I have beautiful dark caramel with light brown spots. Please don't cover them with chocolate! (honestly, I really like chocolate)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARODUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
WOW - removing the butter from the chocolate mixture is definitely the key! Once we did that, these were FABULOUS! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIESHAUL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I've been searching for a recipe like this for a year! It was a time consuming and patience-testing recipe, but so worth it! I did use margarine instead of butter and it probably took a half hour of constant stirring to get to the correct temp. I did not have a heavy bottom pot and my stove top cooks hot so I had to be very careful I poured the caramel into two well greased (with butter) 8x8 pans and threw in the fridge to set Pulled them out and warmed to room temp, then ran the bottom of the pan under hot warm and pulled the caramel out with my fingers - not hard as long as the pan is well buttered! I cut the caramel into 2cmX2cm squares and placed them all on wax paper on the countertop I tried using a good quality chocolate but just could not get the correct consistency so I used dipping wafers which were perfect! They melt much nicer (higher wax content) plus the chocolate has a nice sheen when its dry I used a silicon pastry brush to paint the bottom of each caramel, and then painted the top and sides Sprinkled each with a bit of sea salt and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed the recipes but lined the pan with PAM sprayed parchment paper that overhung the edges. When the caramel cooled, I pulled the whole thing out and cut it into squares with a butcher knife. Also, instead of coating the caramels with chocolate, I drizzled melted chocolate over the squares and then sprinkled some coarse sea salt over the chocolate before it hardened - super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
awesome! This was my first time making caramel too, and it was so worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
The BEST!!! I used margarine instead of butter and cooked to 244 degrees. They were the perfect consistency and had a very excellent buttery flavor! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
(singing) Ahhhhhhhhhhhh! These really are buttery and soft caramels. This is my fourth attempt, but each time before I used a different recipe or I didn't have a candy thermometer. I made the recipe as it follow and I poured my hot caramel into a jelly roll pan that I greased with butter. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I browsed thru the reviews for this recipe because I am interested in making them to bring to a party. It looks as tho some folks had trouble working with the caramel. Is it possible that pouring the candy into ice cube trays to harden would make them easier to remove?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
this were so disappointing. After following the directions exactly, they were impossible to cut. I did not give these to anyone for fear they would pull out their fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States