Chocolate Covered Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
We made these chocolate covered caramels last year and they are simply to die for. I'm a big fan of chewy caramel with rich flavors and dark smooth chocolate. Together, this created a real treat. My tip for getting them to stay their shape and look pretty, is cut them into squares and then refrigerate them so they're cool when you put the warm chocolate on them. The best way I've found to put chocolate on them is to use a pastry brush and just pick up the caramel and paint the bottom, then the top. It works wonderful and they look great. I then put them on wax paper and put in the fridge right away. I found some great chocolate boxes and accessories at Michael's craftstore and I'm going to gift these for Valentine's this year. The caramel taste of this treat is very addicting...Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Yummy!!!! These are the best homemade caramels I've ever had!!! I made them with and without the chocolate. I prefer them without the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This recipe tasted great, but the "drop some in cold water to form a ball" thing didn't work for me, resulting in my not cooking the caramel enough. Therefore, it never hardened and is sitting in a liquidy lump on my counter. It's really yummy to just get a spoonful of it, though, and lick it while you're reading a book or something. Overall, it was good, but for us broke people who don't own candy thermometers, maybe there's a better way to put it?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Just a note for folks who say it came out grainy - be vigilant with wiping down the sides of the pan! Using the canned milk makes crystalization less likely, but caramels are still prone... so get out your wet pastry brush or wet paper towels and WIPE ALL THE TIME to stop the crystals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Delicious candies! Home-made is always best, and nowhere is this more true than with candy. These remind me of the trademark Rolos chocolate caramels, only these, of course, are better. Having made this recipe several times over the last few months however, I wondered why I had such trouble melting the butter/chocolate mixture and keeping it workable while I finished dipping the caramels. The chocolate would stiffen far too quickly, and getting it back to a workable consistency was more difficult the second time round. I decided to read the reviews in an effort to discover what I might be doing wrong and though my particular problem wasn't mentioned, I did read of one reviewer who suggested eliminating the butter from the chocolate mixture. I hoped this would solve my problem and voila! I was not disappointed; the unadulterated chocolate mixture was now smooth and creamy and remained workable for a longer period of time. Butter or no however, I'd recommend having a little more than a pound of chocolate on hand. I've never managed to get by with only a pound. I use Callebaut milk chocolate chips for this recipe and others and am never disappointed. A good quality chocolate should be used because its flavour and texture are superior to that of cheaper varieties. To keep costs down, I purchase Callebaut milk chocolate in the bulk section of my grocery store. This recipe will always have a place in my recipe box. Thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADSISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocanville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I made peanut caramel cluster drops, drizzled with melted chocolate instead. I heated it to 244 and refrigerated them but they would not stay firm. Cooling longer, still became pliable, for a soft chew and still. I was expecting a creamy, firmer, chewier carmel. I'd still like to make creamier caramels-there was a sugary grit to these. All and all, this was a pleasent surprize. Family members were digging into them (me too) so-there you have it! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
The taste is wonderful, but mine turned out so chewy, eating one piece could take you a couple of minutes. Maybe I cooked them the wrong amount of time??? Don't use dark brown sugar, they end up almost as dark as chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Carmel is always popular at parties! I just loved this one in particular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAELSTROM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vashon, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I am a candy making novice, and these turned out great. Very yummy. My new holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUFF GIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
by the way, if you decide not to coat them w/ chocolate, *lightly* dust them with a pastry brush with cornstarch to keep them from sticking..the gloss goes away, but they remain separated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States