Chocolate Covered Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
The taste was delicious but the chocolate was tuff to work with. Will definately make again but trying to figure out a better way to get the chocolate on the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Everyone loved these. I made the caramel and poured it into a pan adn then poured chocolate over it after it had set and before I put it in the refrigerator. It cut so smoothly and everyone absolutely loved them. I had about 150 but they were gone before everyone had otten to try them. Absolutely wonderful and everyone is asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
These caramels turned out delicious but are a lot of work. My advice is to be very careful when making the caramel - use a big sauce pan. When I was stirring the caramel it jumped out of the pan on to my hand and I have a huge burn there. Be careful! I follwed the advice of using the pastry brush to get the tops and found it very helpful. I used a toothpick to dip the caramels into the chocolate and then put them on wax paper, brushed the tops with the chocolate -much easeier than trying to get the whole thing covered. I also broke my chocolate up into two "batches". I melted about 2/3 of the chocolate and once it started to dry out a bit (i didn't use butter in the mix) I added the other 1/3 of the chocolate and it melted and became user-friendly once again. I also added a bit of sea salt to the top of my caramels and it tastes SO good. The recipe is delicious - just be careful of jumping caramel!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Definitely not for those who don't like a mess, but these are amazing. I will never buy store bought caramel again. My husband said this was the best caramel he ever tasted. Dipping can be difficult. I used another reviewer's suggestion and used a pastry brush. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorchester, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very good caramel! Only it was too soft to keep in squares. After I cooled it, I rolled it in balls, then refridgerated the balls. They flatttened, so once cooled, I rolled them again and quickly dipped in the chocolate and quickly got them back in to the fridge. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, New York, USA
Living In: Clay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I LOVE this recipe! This the is third year I have made them and I just finished cooking my 2nd batch for 2006. They are worth the effort it takes. I do not dip them in chocolate since they are delicious plain. Several tips... 1) Definitely use a candy thermometer (they are cheap). 2) Put them in a larger size pan (a 9x13 jellyroll pan lined with buttered foil works great). 3) Before they are completely set, score them with a knife to make lines to follow for cutting with kitchen shears (it's not perfect, but it helps). 4) There are special candy wrappers out there that are meant for caramel and they stay twisted. 5) If the caramels are getting too hard to cut pretty easily, put the large piece in the microwave for 5-10 seconds. This will soften it enough to make it easier to work with, but won't melt them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I have made these twice now and they turned out great both times. I don't have a candy thermometer so I used a meat thermometer, along with the "cold water" method mentioned, and they turned out just fine. I couldnt figure out how to dip them in chocolate, so I drizzle chocolate over them instead. They are very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
DELICIOUS! I made these last year and they were a hit with EVERYONE! This is my secret weapon recipe for X-mas! Always use a candy thermometer!!! I usually do one batch covered in chocolate, and another batch just caramel. Tastes great both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
These were fairly easy to make, for those of you who havent made candies, it might be easier to go to the store and get a couple dollar candy thermometer. I would suggest while dipping the carmels that you keep that which is not being dipped right away in the fride. I cut the carmels in strips and refriderated the rest, and they turned out great definately easy, just a bit time consuming. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Very easy to make, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States