Chocolate Covered Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I would give these caramels 4 1/2 stars. The taste was wonderful..but I wasn't crazy about the texture. I followed directions exactly, but I found my caramels came out a little too soft. Had a hard time cutting them and had to keep them in fridge until ready to serve. I will give this recipe another chance though, because everyone said they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was excellent but I think my candy thermometer is off because I cooked it too long. I have an electric stove and cooked it at 4.5 heat and 20 minutes would have been long enough to have a soft carmel. Mine turned out too firm like a slo poke lollipop but still good. I nuked each piece in the microwave and it tasted great. I also put the chips in the middle as suggested to save time. I will probably skip that next time made a horrible mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I found a can of condensed milk in the fridge, looked up some recipes, and stumbled upon this one. I was always scared of making homemade caramels, but this was a complete success! I halved the recipe, and couldn't be more happy that I did...as I ended up with tons and tons of caramels. Next time, I will still use the 8x8 pan for half the recipe or a 9x13 for a whole batch, as i think they were too thick in a smaller pan. I used veg oil instead of butter to melt my semi-sweet chocolate, and I ended up using a whole 2 c bag on half of the batch. Be careful not to heat this too quickly, or it will be grainy. I also make the mistake of trying to cut these too early, and made a huge mess. I ended up shaping the warm pieces into circles, dipped them, and drizzled with some more chocolate which turned out pretty cute. My husband was speechless when he came home and tried one...and that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Love this!!! I took half of the caramels and wrapped em then covered the other half Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadensmommy05

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mitchell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These caramels were fantastic. I have tried twice before to make caramels at home and failed miserably (with a different recipe). This came out great the first time. I did dip them in the milk chocolate (without the butter) and sprinkled them with sea salt. They were so delicious. I found that putting them top down into the melted chocolate, lifting them out and then flipping them onto the waxed paper after shaking off some of the chocolate was the easiest way to dip them. I also mixed some silver and gold luster dust from the cake decorating store into the sea salt to give it a silver or gold look on top of the chocolate. They turned out really beautiful and I will be giving them for gifts. I look forward to also mixing powdered food coloring in with the luster dust and sea salt for other colors but I haven't done it yet. Great recipe that I will use again and again. UPDATE: I used a 24 cavity silicone Christmas Tree mold (Wilton's I think) for my second batch. It was so easy to pop them out of the buttered molds when they had set up. I will be doing this exclusively from now on. i plan to dip them in chocolate and put the salt arranged like garland. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhoneycutt
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
made these on a last minute whim. I liked them a lot. My dad ended up bringing the left overs to his work. Now one of his co workers keeps asking us to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I love this recipe. I didn't actually make Chocolate Covered Caramels though. I used the caramel portion of the recipe, and dipped apples in it with the kids. Was fabulous. Also I just used condensed milk that was not sweetened. It worked out just fine (still plenty sweet), and Rodgers Golden Syrup, instead of Corn Syrup (they taste exactly the same, have the same texture, but I actually understand the ingredient list on the Golden Syrup. haha). It takes quite some time to cook it down, but it's worth it (took us about an hour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
A lot of boring stirring, but ended up tasting delicious! I cooked this to the right temperature, but mine came out fairly hard - maybe a problem with my thermometer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I used only the caramel part of this recipe, and WOW! This was my second attempt at making caramel (previous disaster was with different recipe and directions). I deviated from the directions here in a couple of areas. I used room temperature unsalted butter, and I mixed everything except the vanilla in the pot and stirred the butter with the remaining ingredients over medium heat until it was smooth. At that point I stopped stirring and popped in the candy thermometer. I did not stir the mixture again until my thermometer read 242 and it was time for the vanilla. I then poured it out (without scraping the pot) into a greased 9 x 9 baking dish. The caramel took a while to set up, but when it was finally set, it was possibly the best caramel I have ever eaten! I used it to make Dark Chocolate Salted Sea Turtles and they were a huge hit with my girlfriends (everyone asked to take a few home)! This recipe will probably be my standard for caramel making from now on for the taste and the easiness of the recipe! Many, many thanks to the poster of this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These were a HUGE hit! Amazing. It took a while to get the chocolate dipping to work, the caramels kept slowly melting at room temp, but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States