Chocolate Covered Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by raodorizzi
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I put a piece of parchment paper in the 8x8 pan so that once it cooled I could just lift it right out of the pan. I just made sure to spray the parchment and any part of the pan the caramel touches with pam. These were really easy to make, but I really didn't care for the flavor... they don't taste much like caramel to me. I heated the caramel to 240 degrees celcius and let the mixture cool in the pan for about 5 hours. Once I cut them into strips they started to spread out a bit, so putting them in the fridge before and/or during cutting is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raodorizzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is the absolute best! Never again will I use store bought caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have never made caramel before. This recipe is easy and delicious. They came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHPFVR
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
"This is the BEST caramel I have ever had!" was the first response I heard after sharing with co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These were easy to make and delicious, I used milk chocolate chips melted no need to add butter, I also topped them with a little corse sea salt....to die for I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smile_u_nut

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
These are great!! And make wonderful gifts. Wrap in freezer paper & put in a nice jar, candy dish, or tin. Also be sure you get to the right temp or you will get candies that are hard if to hot, or really chewy if to cool. And for those getting a grainy chocolate you can take out the butter altogether or use a 1/2 of food grade coco-butter (or 30% of your chocolate ratio) this makes for a wonderful chocolate experience too. Also keep your chocolate over a double boiler on the lowest heat possible, this will keep it at a dipping level. Instead of the dipping method I like to pour a layer of chocolate in a wax papered lined Pan (or over my marble block) let it set completely then pour my carmel over this, let it set up. Cut into squares & slightly separate the squares, or put them on to a cooling rack with a cookie sheet under them, then slowly pour your remaining chocolate over each. You can then reheat the chocolate that drips off and repeat process. This will get a uniform & perfect coating over each candy. They look like you bought them from a fancy chocolate shop, ;c) it sounds hard but it is much easier to get a good coat with out all the mess, dipping, & fork marks. I have had a lot of holes and marks in my candies, lol.. I love that I figured this out. Thank u to the one who posted this recipe, it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wow!!! I almost didn't even get to dip these carmels because my husband just wanted to eat the carmels! I had to keep swating his hand away. This would be great carmel for making carmeled apples to I think. I am definatly going to try it! I will be making these again and again! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I tried this recipe for the first time a few years ago. I had never made candy and this really built my confidence. Although I make many different candies now, I find it is the most requested of my goodies. It's all about temperature. I heat it up slowly (patience is the key) until a firm ball is formed when dropped in cold water. Sometimes I use a thermometer, but I still find the cold water test to be more reliable. I use a 9x13 and skip the butter. I also find that chilling it in the fridge before dipping it and again, immediately after makes it easier to work with. Then I drizzle with white chocolate just to add some contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ransomville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These tasted fantastic! I followed the advice of other reviewers and left out the butter from the chocolate mixture. I just used semi-sweet chocolate chips and it worked out well. I did face the problem of my caramels melting once I dipped them in chocolate - they looked more like caramel patties. It seemed to help if I got them back into the fridge very soon after dipping them in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I just have to say that this is the best caramel recipe that I use.. I make these caramels for all holidays and special occasion. Of all the things I make, this is the most requested. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States