Chocolate Covered Caramel Surprise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
These are fabulous-tasting and no one has ever resisted them. I would have given them a 5 except that I found wrapping the dough around the candies to be a bit of a challenge. Be sure to create a complete seal around the candies--otherwise the goo will spill out, which is fine if they are just for you (chocolate is chocolate!) but it doesn't work well if you're presenting them to friends or family. Still, they are highly decadent, even without the white chocolate, which I omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I made over 300 of these for our fellowship's Vacation Bible School and everyone LOVED them. We baked them right there on the campus so they were still warm and nicely gooey. I didn't bother with the white chocolate drizzled over the top to make things easier. (I also made one that had a York peppermint patty in it instead of a Rolo and that one was even better than the original.) Mine didn't look like the ones in the picture. Mine flattened out a lot more and had deep cracks like molasses cookies. Now, if you'll excuse me, I need to print up copies of the recipe for the many people who requested it from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I have made this recipe several times- it is always a hit! People love it! I use Rolos and I don't bother with the white chocolate, it is decadent enough without it. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
These were delicious..time consuming but worth it..I used Brachs caramels..Next time I will try Kraft..caramels were a bit hard and chewy..Hoping a different brand might be more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have been making these cookies for years and everyone loves them! I use Rolos as well and find it works best if I let the dough sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours before I wrap them around the candies, it makes it much easier to work with. Since it is a time consuming recipe, I always at least double the recipe. When I make the cookies I put the balls of dough (uncooked)on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer for an hour, then you can transfer them to a freezer bag--you have a bunch already made up and can make as few or as many as you want when you want some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are great. After awhile of playing with them, I finally figured out how to do it. I kept a pile of powdered sugar in front of me on parchment paper, so I could put my palm and finger tips in it to keep them coated. I would take a TBLSP. of dough out [approximately] and put it in the palm of my hand, flatten with finger tips to a size of a small pancake, put your caramel in center, fold up sides and pinch close. Roll between your two palms. Keep putting your fingers in the powdered sugar as needed. Roll in sugar. Scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Awesome! Word of advice though- do NOT cool on wire racks! The caramel will fall right out of the soft cookie! I put parchment paper on top of the rack after the first few cookies emptied themselves out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Really good cookies. My 9 year old sells cookies to family and friends to make extra money. After reading the recipe name, he decided he wanted to add these to his offerings. I thought it might be too complicated for him after reading other reviewers comments about the difficulty of the dough. He didn't have any issues getting the dough around the caramels. Of course, he made them completely by himself so he may have added or omitted something that I don't know of (lol). I think next time he makes them, I will melt down the caramels and put into candy molds to flatten out as the cookies were pretty tall and would come out prettier if flatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
These are phenomenal!!!! These will be the new "go-to" cookies in our house. They are rich, so it is easy not to over-indulge. It is easy to over do it on the sugar coating; a little goes a long way on the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have made these cookies several times. They are best warm out of the oven. I use rolos and leave out the pecans. They dough is sticky when you have to put it around the rolo. I have found that if you spray your hands with some Pam it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States