Chocolate Covered Caramel Surprise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe was a frustration for me! When I was mixing the first ingredients, gooosh, the smell was amazing! I followed all steps exactly (expect I didn't used pecans) but all started to fail when I start warping the caramels.. it's impossible to do it with your hands, and flour doesn't help a bit. I start doing it with two spoons, it was ok. When I took it from the oven, my God! The caramel was completely melted into the cookie sheet and I barely could move the cookies without breaking them. The taste was not what I expected, and I chocolate and caramel are my favorite flavors in the world. I didn't liked this cookies at all.. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresinha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Holy cow! These were good! I realized I didn't have cocoa after mixing the wet igredients so I melted 1 1/4 cups of chocolate chips and added it to the wet ingredients instead. After adding rolos I tried out cherry cordial kisses, and assorted mini chocolate bars (milky way, three musketeers, twix etc.) they were amazing. I didn't add the white chocolate, and I only rolled half of them in sugar. They were amazing! The only problem with so many varieties, is you have to try every one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
These were great and gone in a flash at a church dinner. My wife made these and at least 4 or 5 people came and asked for the recipe with one saying they were the best cookie ever. They were chewy and excellent. Will definitely be doing again. She took the minature peanut butter cups and cut them in half and used those, and those were the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I have made these several times and they are always a hit! I keep them premade in the freezer, and when I have company just pop them right into the oven and serve them warm - you don't need the drizzle on top, they are delicious without it. I also like many other reviewers use rolos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Awesome! Word of advice though- do NOT cool on wire racks! The caramel will fall right out of the soft cookie! I put parchment paper on top of the rack after the first few cookies emptied themselves out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Garrett
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Instant keeper. I omitted the pecans, used 26 caramels (recipe made 26 cookies), slightly warmed and flattened and I was out of white chocolate chips so I used butterscotch. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I thought these would be perfect for my taste, but I was shocked when I didn't love them. They were just *shrug* okay. I think the flavor is too subtle and creamy - it needs something to jump out, flavour wise. Maybe cinnamon? I used the rolos and they came out fabulously gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have been making these cookies for years and everyone loves them! I use Rolos as well and find it works best if I let the dough sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours before I wrap them around the candies, it makes it much easier to work with. Since it is a time consuming recipe, I always at least double the recipe. When I make the cookies I put the balls of dough (uncooked)on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer for an hour, then you can transfer them to a freezer bag--you have a bunch already made up and can make as few or as many as you want when you want some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Excellent cookie! With a very fudgie base, I found using a cookie baller and a floured finger to work best for stuffing the 'ball'. load up the scoop, squish a rolo inside, and seal. I also did not drizzle choc. over the top (didn't have any :)and they were great just like that. I doubled the recipe and got just over 6 dozen evenly sized balls... one perk about the cookie scoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Polk City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have made these cookies several times. They are best warm out of the oven. I use rolos and leave out the pecans. They dough is sticky when you have to put it around the rolo. I have found that if you spray your hands with some Pam it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States