Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My son decided at the last minute that he wanted to leave chocolate pudding for Santa. I was happy to find this recipe that used ingredients I had on hand. This pudding couldn't have been easier. I made it as written and will follow the recipe exactly in the future. It was easy and delicious. We'll be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Excellent, simple chocolate pudding recipe. Just as easy as using a boxed mix, and much tastier. As another reviewer mentioned, mixing the dry ingredients and ensuring there are no lumps, before stirring in the milk, is key to a smooth pudding. The pudding does become quite firm, but we like it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Morris-Vogel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Tried this after dental surgery and could not stop eating it! I am never buying Jello again. Only changes I made was adding one extra tablespoon of cocoa powder and add a mix of half-and-half and almond milk (didn't have regular milk at home). Thanks, Kelly, for this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Excellent and straight forward recipe. To all those having problems with the viscosity, temperature and movement is key. Too much heat causes the starch to unwind onto itself and congeal/burn on the bottom. Too little heat will result in thin, chalky tasting pudding. Reduce liquid to a gentle simmer, stirring constantly for 2 to 3 min. It is also quite useful to thoroughly dissolve the corn starch in the cold milk before applying heat. If you add more cocoa, reduce the amount of starch or increase the amount of liquid slightly as the cocoa will also serve to thicken the slurry. Simple recipes are easy to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I love this recipe. My husband never wants packaged pudding again. Very easy and reliable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for to taste like the boxed "cook & serve" stuff of my youth! I read through several reviews first, as I always find that helpful on this site, so I did incorporate some of those ideas for the good and bad on my first try. First off, I stuck with 1/4 C cornstarch as published and had no problems with consistency. I dropped sugar to 1/3 C as I always find American recipes too sweet. Upped salt to 1/4 tsp and also upped cocoa to 4 heaping teaspoons. I mixed 3 different types I had on hand: Hershey's special dark, Wilbur's and Bellagio sipping chocolate cocoa for extra decadence. I also threw in a few drops of hot sauce just for kicks although I didn't really taste it. The second batch I just made this morning was perfect! The difference between it and last week's was that last week I used 1 can of evaporated milk (per reviewer) along with whole milk, as I didn't have enough milk on hand. There was definitely an unpleasant, weird flavor last week that I attributed to the evaporated milk although I was concerned I might have slightly burned it too. So this week I used all whole raw milk and noticed none of the weirdness even though I had some slightly burnt stuff stuck on the bottom of the pot again. So unless you really like the flavor of evaporated milk, I would not suggest it for this recipe. As for the skin, I like it as proof it's homemade pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This pudding is so good, it blows boxed mixes out of the water. I thought the sweetness was just right. I put mine in popsicle molds and made fudgesicles for my grandson, nothing artificial, just yummy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very easy very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ayesha
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My grandmother was from india n believe it or not, this recipe is exactly like hers of choclate pudding n after such a long time i made it as i had forgotten all abt it so didnt have the recipe but today i badly wanted to eat sonething choclaty n hot n when read the reviews n everyone saying itreminds them of their grandma's recipe i remembered mine n hoped that it tastes the same n it really tastes the same, really easy tto make.The negaive revew i read was that its thin But myadvice isbring it to boil while constantly stirring till it takes a little more weight to stir u willknow thatsit has started to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This recipe is EASY PEASY and is far and away better tasting than box mix. I feel the same way about brownies, if you have cocoa and sugar the chocolate world is yours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 806) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States