Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Easy to adapt for diabetics to make a sugar-free treat. I have experimented with various amounts of Splenda, including 1:1, 1.5:1, and my favorite, 2:1. It always takes more Splenda than sugar, no matter what the package says. Because I love deep chocolate, I use 5 level tablespoons of Dutch process cocoa, which makes a huge difference in this recipe. Dutch process cocoa has been alkalized, which neutralizes the acidity that is present in non-alkalized cocoa, such as Hershey's, the most readily available brand in the US. It costs more to buy Dutch process cocoa, but it's money well spent. I buy it in bulk online and use it in everything that calls for cocoa, such as hot chocolate, cakes, and cookies. However, since I have added a full 2 Tb beyond what is called for in the recipe, I believe that's why it takes so much more Splenda. I've learned to streamline the process by cooking it in the microwave. Give it 3 minutes at full power initially, then whisk well, and set for increments of 1 minute, whisking well after each minute until it reaches the consistency you like, remembering that additional thickening occurs after refrigeration. For me, in my 700 watt microwave, I only need one additional minute, but bear in mind that your mileage may vary. Add the butter and vanilla, whisk one last time, pour into serving dishes and chill. About 7-8 minutes, start-to-finish. Great depth of chocolate flavor. Simple, satisfying comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
What an indulgence!!! The best classic chocolate pudding recipe I ever ate! It is creamy, it has a great texture, it's just perfect! And it is so simple to make. Don't skip the butter though, it really is the secret ingredient...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I'm in chocolate heaven. Thank you. My only tweak was follow another reviewer's suggestion of substituting brown sugar for the white cane sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Quick, simple, chocolaty, easy, delicious. I substituted splenda for the sugar (I needed to add a little extra) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Just as easy as Jello Cook & Serve, but taste 100% BETTER! I make it with Splenda for my dad who has diabetes. HE LOVES IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Taste great and east to make. I put a tiny bit of almond extract in, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a great straight forward pudding recipe. It tastes wonderful. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
It was gone before the day was up. This was nice and creamy but a little tricky not to over or under cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Yummy! I added a lil more cocoa and half white sugar half brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States