Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
AWESOME!!! Substituted coconut milk. Turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This needs more chocolate. Not a lot more, maybe a couple of tablespoons. My main problem was that it was thin and runny. More like a sauce - good for dipping. I followed the recipe exactly. The trick must be in allowing it to boil and then thicken a bit, while stirring off and on. I think the directions that state, "until it coats the back of the spoon" is subjective. Maybe I took it off the stove too early. I'll try it again. I think it's worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was a really quick chocolate pudding that tasted great. I made it the first time as the recipe was written and the second time I used soy milk (because hubby cannot have dairy). I used a little less sugar with the soy milk as it is sweeter than regular milk, but both times it tasted great, and you really couldn't tell the difference between the milk and soy versions. Will be making this a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I love this recipe. Good for so much more than just pudding. Also makes a nice chocolate pie or you can freeze it in popsicle molds to make fudgesicles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I used to use a recipe that had the extra step of mixing cornstarch and milk and adding that in. The measurements are all the same and this was much easier to make. It's thickening up nicely and smells good. I did take a taste, mandatory, and it is very good. I'll make this from now on. I've always made puddings from scratch. I do often cut back to do half sugar and half splenda on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
The texture and consistency of this was perfect. It wasn't quite chocolatey enough for my chocolate-loving husband though, so I melted a few chunks of a chocolate bar into it after it was finished cooking. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoyfulMom
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Thank you so much! My youngest of three is allergic to refined sugars, so I was able to substitute Truvia for the sugar just a third less, and it tasted fabulous! Thank you from the little one and her family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
i was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of the pudding recipe. i've never made pudding from scratch or even from a box so i was a bit hesitant about even attempting this recipe. but then the pudding cravings hit...i had no cocoa powder on hand so i just made vanilla pudding---very tasty and has almost the exact texture of pudding you buy at the store. this will definitely be my 'go to' dessert recipe. (update: my only complaint is lumps)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Fast easy and so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I had an entire gallon of milk that was about to expire, so decided to make some pudding to use it up. Didn't have a lot of ingredients on hand, so used this recipe as a base with a few substitutions that I don't think impacted the overall result. Followed the recipe but substituted a slightly heaping 1/4 cup of chocolate chips for the cocoa powder and butter, and reduced the sugar to a heaping 1/4 cup. I was really surprised at how good this tasted! Taste was great, but gave it 4 stars for the consistency. I think using cornstarch as the thickener causes the pudding to have a jelly-like consistency (It jiggles when you shake it, for example). That's not what I think of when I think of pudding. If you can look past that, the flavor and mouth texture are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 864) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States