Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Fast easy and so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I had an entire gallon of milk that was about to expire, so decided to make some pudding to use it up. Didn't have a lot of ingredients on hand, so used this recipe as a base with a few substitutions that I don't think impacted the overall result. Followed the recipe but substituted a slightly heaping 1/4 cup of chocolate chips for the cocoa powder and butter, and reduced the sugar to a heaping 1/4 cup. I was really surprised at how good this tasted! Taste was great, but gave it 4 stars for the consistency. I think using cornstarch as the thickener causes the pudding to have a jelly-like consistency (It jiggles when you shake it, for example). That's not what I think of when I think of pudding. If you can look past that, the flavor and mouth texture are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My daughter requested chocolate pudding, so we made it using what we had. 2 cups of almond milk with 3/4 half and half, brown sugar instead of white (she loves it so that was by choice), and the rest remained the same. Amazing. We used a little less sugar and a little more cocoa than called for, and it's simply gorgeous and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Yummy...very good. My whole family enjoyed this for Christmas. Tasted like melted chocolate ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is the third time I have tried this recipe and it works flawlessly. I use solid cooking chocolate, not cocoa powder. And for those people who have it come out thin, maybe you should try full-cream whole milk, if you aren't already. Overall, great dessert and super-easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shuen Mong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this for a large group and tripled the recipe. It still came out just perfect - creamy and chocolatey. It's a keeper. A bonus is the low cost to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
PERFECTION. The only change I made was to up the cocoa powder to four heaping tablespoons, because I REALLY needed a chocolate fix. I'm saying goodbye to the boxed mix - this was so much better and SUPER easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
A wonderful pudding. I personally do not use cornstarch, instead I use spelt flour and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Easy. I added extra chocolate to suit taste. Also, when adding the vanilla, I added a bit of dried espresso to deepen the chocolate flavor. Husband felt loved eating warm homemade pudding for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Same recipe I've used for 40 years. If you like it a bit thicker, you can use a bit more cornstarch. Just a note-- if you are low on milk but have instant powdered dry milk, you can add the dry milk powder in with the sugar and other dry ingredients and just add in the water that is necessary to make up the correct amount of milk. It doesn't hurt the taste. This is obviously a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States