Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Easy to adapt for diabetics to make a sugar-free treat. I have experimented with various amounts of Splenda, including 1:1, 1.5:1, and my favorite, 2:1. It always takes more Splenda than sugar, no matter what the package says. Because I love deep chocolate, I use 5 level tablespoons of Dutch process cocoa, which makes a huge difference in this recipe. Dutch process cocoa has been alkalized, which neutralizes the acidity that is present in non-alkalized cocoa, such as Hershey's, the most readily available brand in the US. It costs more to buy Dutch process cocoa, but it's money well spent. I buy it in bulk online and use it in everything that calls for cocoa, such as hot chocolate, cakes, and cookies. However, since I have added a full 2 Tb beyond what is called for in the recipe, I believe that's why it takes so much more Splenda. I've learned to streamline the process by cooking it in the microwave. Give it 3 minutes at full power initially, then whisk well, and set for increments of 1 minute, whisking well after each minute until it reaches the consistency you like, remembering that additional thickening occurs after refrigeration. For me, in my 700 watt microwave, I only need one additional minute, but bear in mind that your mileage may vary. Add the butter and vanilla, whisk one last time, pour into serving dishes and chill. About 7-8 minutes, start-to-finish. Great depth of chocolate flavor. Simple, satisfying comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
What an indulgence!!! The best classic chocolate pudding recipe I ever ate! It is creamy, it has a great texture, it's just perfect! And it is so simple to make. Don't skip the butter though, it really is the secret ingredient...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I'm in chocolate heaven. Thank you. My only tweak was follow another reviewer's suggestion of substituting brown sugar for the white cane sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Quick, simple, chocolaty, easy, delicious. I substituted splenda for the sugar (I needed to add a little extra) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Just as easy as Jello Cook & Serve, but taste 100% BETTER! I make it with Splenda for my dad who has diabetes. HE LOVES IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Taste great and east to make. I put a tiny bit of almond extract in, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a great straight forward pudding recipe. It tastes wonderful. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
It was gone before the day was up. This was nice and creamy but a little tricky not to over or under cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Yummy! I added a lil more cocoa and half white sugar half brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARICAM58
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this recipe as written with no substitutions or alterations and it came out just fine. The flavor and creamy consistency of the pudding is worth a solid four-plus stars but I gave it five stars overall because of the simplicity of the recipe, and I value simplicity especially when the results are this good. I used a whisk first to combine the dry ingredients and then to incorporate the milk until the mixture came to a boil. I finished cooking the pudding with a metal spoon so I could see how it coated the spoon, then used the whisk again to blend in the butter and vanilla. I used Hershey's "Special Dark" cocoa and while it was quite delicious, I agree with another reviewer who said this pudding is only as good as the cocoa. While I like Special Dark for making brownies, I'm eager to try this recipe again using a better quality cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARICAM58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States