Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! I was out of brown sugar so I used sucanat mixed with regular sugar, and cut the total sugar down to 3/4 cup. I also used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and oil instead of shortnening. Finally, I was low on flour, so I used 1 1/4 cups white, and 1/4 cup whole wheat. The texture of the cookies was silky and thick, and they baked beautifully into cakey cookies. Not too chocolatey, which I liked a lot, and the walnuts were a great addition. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I just baked these, and realized this recipe is the recipe (cut in half) that my mother got from her high school boyfriend's mother in the 50s, only hers bakes them at 325 and uses 1/4 cup less flour (all purpose flour). I've loved them since I was a little girl, and have been making them for my kids since they were born. People either love them or they don't care for them at all. I will say, I never like them hot out of the oven. They are tasteless straight from the oven. They are much better the next day. Also, don't overbake them. 12-15 minutes is way too long for this cookie, and I don't make them small. (2 1/2 inches fully baked) Nine minutes is fully baked, and that is at 325. We never add nuts or chocolate chips to this recipe, and I can't imagine them made with cake flour. They are already fluffy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Yum! Just FYI if you don't have buttermilk (I didn't), just do 1/2 c milk (whole or 2% is best) and 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice or vinegar and let it sit for 5min. These cookies are also great with white chocolate chips. Another reviewer said they were "spongy", but these are drop cookies--they're supposed to be soft. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubree Marble Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
If I could give these 10 stars, I would. These are the absolute best chocolate cookie. I have made them a couple of times and used regular all purpose flour and they still turn out great. Definitely frost with the chocolate butter cream frosting. We love these so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Wow!These are amazing! I used all purpose flour instead of cake flour. I also had some whipping cream that needed to be used up so I used that instead of the buttermilk. These taste alot like brownies in a cookie form! If butter was used instead of the shortening they would really taste like brownies! These will become a family favorite for sure! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The kids seem to like them. My husband and I found them ok. There are easy to make and I like the fact that the recipe uses ingredients that are not extravagant. Overall, good cookies, that I will definitively try again. By the way: I didn't melt the chocolate but grated it. Used cream instead of buttermilk (which I didn't have in the fridge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Tastes ok but very crummbly and more like cake than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Bland is a good word, and it's a cake-like cookie. I made the batter aspect exactly as it reads but I didn't make the frosting and didn't add the walnuts. I baked the first sheet of cookies then decided to add some white choc chips for the next tray that went in. Maybe the walnuts would add the needed texture, but overall, just a bland chocolate cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cork1035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
It was OK, definitely not too chocolatey. I added about a 1/4 cup of hershey's syrup and it made them better. My kids liked them, but only because they were so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipie isnt anything too special. It's not very sweet or chocolatey. Not only that, but they look like they've been burnt, which is not good. It feels spongy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Pennington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States