Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
If I could give these 10 stars, I would. These are the absolute best chocolate cookie. I have made them a couple of times and used regular all purpose flour and they still turn out great. Definitely frost with the chocolate butter cream frosting. We love these so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Wow!These are amazing! I used all purpose flour instead of cake flour. I also had some whipping cream that needed to be used up so I used that instead of the buttermilk. These taste alot like brownies in a cookie form! If butter was used instead of the shortening they would really taste like brownies! These will become a family favorite for sure! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipie isnt anything too special. It's not very sweet or chocolatey. Not only that, but they look like they've been burnt, which is not good. It feels spongy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Pennington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
It was OK, definitely not too chocolatey. I added about a 1/4 cup of hershey's syrup and it made them better. My kids liked them, but only because they were so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
turned out horrible had no shape and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! I was out of brown sugar so I used sucanat mixed with regular sugar, and cut the total sugar down to 3/4 cup. I also used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and oil instead of shortnening. Finally, I was low on flour, so I used 1 1/4 cups white, and 1/4 cup whole wheat. The texture of the cookies was silky and thick, and they baked beautifully into cakey cookies. Not too chocolatey, which I liked a lot, and the walnuts were a great addition. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
When i melted the chocolate, it hardened right away. Dough was terrible consistancy. I couldnt even bake them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Batter is too runny. Unusable as cookies. Putting it in a loaf pan instead, hoping this runny mixture will somehow work as a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I just baked these, and realized this recipe is the recipe (cut in half) that my mother got from her high school boyfriend's mother in the 50s, only hers bakes them at 325 and uses 1/4 cup less flour (all purpose flour). I've loved them since I was a little girl, and have been making them for my kids since they were born. People either love them or they don't care for them at all. I will say, I never like them hot out of the oven. They are tasteless straight from the oven. They are much better the next day. Also, don't overbake them. 12-15 minutes is way too long for this cookie, and I don't make them small. (2 1/2 inches fully baked) Nine minutes is fully baked, and that is at 325. We never add nuts or chocolate chips to this recipe, and I can't imagine them made with cake flour. They are already fluffy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I hate to say it but this is a ridiculous recipe. Very misleading because the end result is nothing like what the picture promises. The dough wasn't really dough, just a thick kind of cream. It was sticky too, so there was absolutely no way of giving shape to the cookies. "Drop onto greased cookie sheet" this recipe says. There is no way of doing that and still getting a decent cookie shape. You just get messy piles of... cream. And eventually, piles of airy dough. Because this recipe gives little info, I thought I'd made the dough wrong. So I started over (cost me another 85 minutes) and ended up with the same result. Eventually I just decided to bake part of it. It ended up looking like a small cow pie. Didn't like the taste of it either. Too airy and not very chocolaty. I added about 1.5 cup of extra flour to the "cream" and baked some decent cookies with that. They taste reasonable. Less airy, still not very chocolaty. The chocolate glaze helps though. I'm definitely not making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States