Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
If I could give these 10 stars, I would. These are the absolute best chocolate cookie. I have made them a couple of times and used regular all purpose flour and they still turn out great. Definitely frost with the chocolate butter cream frosting. We love these so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Wow!These are amazing! I used all purpose flour instead of cake flour. I also had some whipping cream that needed to be used up so I used that instead of the buttermilk. These taste alot like brownies in a cookie form! If butter was used instead of the shortening they would really taste like brownies! These will become a family favorite for sure! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
It was OK, definitely not too chocolatey. I added about a 1/4 cup of hershey's syrup and it made them better. My kids liked them, but only because they were so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipie isnt anything too special. It's not very sweet or chocolatey. Not only that, but they look like they've been burnt, which is not good. It feels spongy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Pennington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
turned out horrible had no shape and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
When i melted the chocolate, it hardened right away. Dough was terrible consistancy. I couldnt even bake them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Batter is too runny. Unusable as cookies. Putting it in a loaf pan instead, hoping this runny mixture will somehow work as a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! I was out of brown sugar so I used sucanat mixed with regular sugar, and cut the total sugar down to 3/4 cup. I also used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and oil instead of shortnening. Finally, I was low on flour, so I used 1 1/4 cups white, and 1/4 cup whole wheat. The texture of the cookies was silky and thick, and they baked beautifully into cakey cookies. Not too chocolatey, which I liked a lot, and the walnuts were a great addition. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Tastes ok but very crummbly and more like cake than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Bland is a good word, and it's a cake-like cookie. I made the batter aspect exactly as it reads but I didn't make the frosting and didn't add the walnuts. I baked the first sheet of cookies then decided to add some white choc chips for the next tray that went in. Maybe the walnuts would add the needed texture, but overall, just a bland chocolate cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cork1035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States