Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Yum! Just FYI if you don't have buttermilk (I didn't), just do 1/2 c milk (whole or 2% is best) and 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice or vinegar and let it sit for 5min. These cookies are also great with white chocolate chips. Another reviewer said they were "spongy", but these are drop cookies--they're supposed to be soft. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubree Marble Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I just baked these, and realized this recipe is the recipe (cut in half) that my mother got from her high school boyfriend's mother in the 50s, only hers bakes them at 325 and uses 1/4 cup less flour (all purpose flour). I've loved them since I was a little girl, and have been making them for my kids since they were born. People either love them or they don't care for them at all. I will say, I never like them hot out of the oven. They are tasteless straight from the oven. They are much better the next day. Also, don't overbake them. 12-15 minutes is way too long for this cookie, and I don't make them small. (2 1/2 inches fully baked) Nine minutes is fully baked, and that is at 325. We never add nuts or chocolate chips to this recipe, and I can't imagine them made with cake flour. They are already fluffy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I hate to say it but this is a ridiculous recipe. Very misleading because the end result is nothing like what the picture promises. The dough wasn't really dough, just a thick kind of cream. It was sticky too, so there was absolutely no way of giving shape to the cookies. "Drop onto greased cookie sheet" this recipe says. There is no way of doing that and still getting a decent cookie shape. You just get messy piles of... cream. And eventually, piles of airy dough. Because this recipe gives little info, I thought I'd made the dough wrong. So I started over (cost me another 85 minutes) and ended up with the same result. Eventually I just decided to bake part of it. It ended up looking like a small cow pie. Didn't like the taste of it either. Too airy and not very chocolaty. I added about 1.5 cup of extra flour to the "cream" and baked some decent cookies with that. They taste reasonable. Less airy, still not very chocolaty. The chocolate glaze helps though. I'm definitely not making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The kids seem to like them. My husband and I found them ok. There are easy to make and I like the fact that the recipe uses ingredients that are not extravagant. Overall, good cookies, that I will definitively try again. By the way: I didn't melt the chocolate but grated it. Used cream instead of buttermilk (which I didn't have in the fridge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Bland is a good word, and it's a cake-like cookie. I made the batter aspect exactly as it reads but I didn't make the frosting and didn't add the walnuts. I baked the first sheet of cookies then decided to add some white choc chips for the next tray that went in. Maybe the walnuts would add the needed texture, but overall, just a bland chocolate cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cork1035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Tastes ok but very crummbly and more like cake than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! I was out of brown sugar so I used sucanat mixed with regular sugar, and cut the total sugar down to 3/4 cup. I also used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and oil instead of shortnening. Finally, I was low on flour, so I used 1 1/4 cups white, and 1/4 cup whole wheat. The texture of the cookies was silky and thick, and they baked beautifully into cakey cookies. Not too chocolatey, which I liked a lot, and the walnuts were a great addition. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Batter is too runny. Unusable as cookies. Putting it in a loaf pan instead, hoping this runny mixture will somehow work as a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
When i melted the chocolate, it hardened right away. Dough was terrible consistancy. I couldnt even bake them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
turned out horrible had no shape and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States