Chocolate Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
WARNING: If your gift recipient waits a while before using the mix, the brown-sugar layer will have hardened into a solid chunk that has to be chipped out of the jar and won't blend well with other ingredients once it is in the mixing bowl. I discovered this when I used the mix three weeks after it was made, and I ended up with a bloody finger after having to pry the brown sugar out with a knife. My suggestion is, blend the brown and white sugars together before packing into the jar, so that the brown sugar can't harden into a chunk. Perhaps not as pretty, but definitely more practical -- and more safe. I have to say, though, that I am not crazy about the idea of giving a cookie mix as a gift. I mean, if you care enough to give, why not go to the trouble to bake a batch of cookies for someone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I've made this a few times as gifts and they're always a hit. I would agree that the layering needs to be changed. I started with the flour mixture on the bottom and then alternated dark and light. I also used peanutbutter chips in exchange for the nuts, because you never know who doesn't like them. A good idea for a gift is to make a batch of the cookies to give with the cookie mix in a jar. It's immediate gratification and they will know what their batch will taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This is a really delicious cookie. I made about 24 cookies from the mix instead of 36 (ie bigger than suggested) and cooked them for about 20 minutes. The baking soda/powder could be tasted slightly, so could be reduced, but it was not overpowering and didn't leave a bitter aftertaste. Also, I made the recipe with half choc chips and half white choc chips and it turned out great. Lastly, I made the order in the jar as follows: 1/2 flour, brown sugar, white sugar, cocoa, remaining flour (with baking powder and soda), choc chips, pecans. This gave a light, dark, light appearance to the mix in the jar. Thanks for the recipe, Jennifer - it's now one my favourites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. Once the ingredients are rearranged (I put the flour, powder, soda, and salt on the bottom, then layered dark, light, dark, light and finished with the chips on the top) and the jar tied with a wide red bow, the presentation is quite festive. Because nuts are not universally loved, I substituted 3/4 C white chocolate chips and 3/4 C semi-sweet chips for the nuts and chips listed in the ingredients. They worked perfectly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I change a couple of things with this recipe. I reverse the order of ingredients and divide the flour in between the brown sugar and cocoa when putting them in the jar. To me it looks better and the flour doesn't mix with the chocolate chips. Makes a better looking sand art design. Thanks for listening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I dont know whos idea it was to put the flour on top but if you want flour all over when you open it, then thats the way to do it. I suggest putting the ing. in this order. Brown sugar, flour, cocoa, sugar, pecans and chocolate chips. My 3 yr. old son had a blast helping me put the ing. in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TyeDye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These cookies were really yummy. Lots of chocolate, and moist. I doubled the batch and mixed it all up, then packed it into 4 500ml (1/2 quart) jars as my own premade cookie mix. When I want cookies I mix up a jar (I use 1 egg for each jar) and I get about 15 nice sized cookies. It takes only a few minutes to prepare and we get fresh homemade cookies any night of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Great cookie--it does taste like a brownie in a cookie form w/choc. chips. I agree w/the suggestion to split up the brown sugar in the layering so it isn't so compressed and it makes sense that it did harden. Had no complaints about anything in this recipe and my chocolate tooth was very satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This recipe turned out great! - both the jar and the baked cookies. I followed the suggestions of other readers regarding layering, and used M&M's rather than chocolate chips. These made great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I wanted to try this recipe before I give it as a gift. The cookies are yummy! They turn out nice and chewy. I used half white chocolate chips and half milk chocolate chips for something different and mixed up the dough using my hands, this worked better than stirring. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States