Chocolate Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
These cookies taste so good - almost like a brownie in a cookie form! I haven't layered it yet in a jar for a gift, but that is my intention. I highly recommend these to anyone who loves chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This was amazingly simple. The Ghirardelli chips melted like silk to make a beautiful presentation, and the flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This recipe turned out great! - both the jar and the baked cookies. I followed the suggestions of other readers regarding layering, and used M&M's rather than chocolate chips. These made great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I've made this a few times as gifts and they're always a hit. I would agree that the layering needs to be changed. I started with the flour mixture on the bottom and then alternated dark and light. I also used peanutbutter chips in exchange for the nuts, because you never know who doesn't like them. A good idea for a gift is to make a batch of the cookies to give with the cookie mix in a jar. It's immediate gratification and they will know what their batch will taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I wanted to try this recipe before I give it as a gift. The cookies are yummy! They turn out nice and chewy. I used half white chocolate chips and half milk chocolate chips for something different and mixed up the dough using my hands, this worked better than stirring. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
WARNING: If your gift recipient waits a while before using the mix, the brown-sugar layer will have hardened into a solid chunk that has to be chipped out of the jar and won't blend well with other ingredients once it is in the mixing bowl. I discovered this when I used the mix three weeks after it was made, and I ended up with a bloody finger after having to pry the brown sugar out with a knife. My suggestion is, blend the brown and white sugars together before packing into the jar, so that the brown sugar can't harden into a chunk. Perhaps not as pretty, but definitely more practical -- and more safe. I have to say, though, that I am not crazy about the idea of giving a cookie mix as a gift. I mean, if you care enough to give, why not go to the trouble to bake a batch of cookies for someone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This is an excellent cookie recipe. I sliced the softened butter into pats and then used my hands to work it in. Added the egg and vanilla after that. I chilled the dough before baking. I used my convection oven at 300 degrees for 11-12 minutes and the cookies were perfect. The flavor is rich and the texture is chewy with a little crunch on the outside. I am going to make them again soon and will try adding some coconut and almonds instead of pecans. This is a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
cookies tasted great. family & friends loved receiving these at xmas. only change would be order of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. Once the ingredients are rearranged (I put the flour, powder, soda, and salt on the bottom, then layered dark, light, dark, light and finished with the chips on the top) and the jar tied with a wide red bow, the presentation is quite festive. Because nuts are not universally loved, I substituted 3/4 C white chocolate chips and 3/4 C semi-sweet chips for the nuts and chips listed in the ingredients. They worked perfectly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I wanted to give these jars to people for the holidays but first I wanted to try the recipe. It was GREAT!! I gave the jars to people for the holidays and everyone I gave these to loved the cookies. Some of my friends have tried other cookie jars and they said that this recipe was better than the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States