Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was alot of steps but very very good cheesecake. A few mishaps, I had 9 inch pan so I had little room after the main filling and realizing. So the choclate ganache on top was put on lightly and actually turned out to be just perfect. Will definatley make again. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Excellent. I do not have a spring form pan so I used cupcake pan. Sprayed the pan, and then firmly pressed the crust to the bottom and up around the sides. Baked 5 min, as recipe states. Added cheese cake mixture as stated, with the cookie chunks. I filled the cups nearly to the top. Cut down initial cook time to 20 to 25 min. added sour cream mixture and cooked the remaining time (in full). They puffed up a bit (before sour cream) but when I took them out and mixed the sour cream they "settled and firmed" enough for me to add the sour cream mix in a thin layer. They came out PERFECT. I was worried that they would stick to the pan, but they did not. Once they were cool, I used a sharp knife around the perimeter of each cake. Then added gnache and put them in the fridge until the next day. LOOKED and TASTED wonderful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Wow! You only need to serve about a square inch to your guests with this one! Rich and delicious. I wouldn't change anything. Just make sure you have a tall cake pan to bake it in so it doesn't spill over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
WOW! This is creamy, beautiful tasting and looking and is a terrific dessert which has to be made ahead (love that idea!) Not too difficult and a show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I only had a 9inch pan, so i did not have room for the sour cream layer. I still added the chocolate layer. It was fantastic! I can't wait to make it again with the sour cream layer this time. I had people coming by just for desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I followed the recipie exactly (except I left out the cinnamon in the crust) and it turned out perfect and delicious. I made it for my mother-in-law for Mother's Day and I was so nervouse that it wouldn't turn out. I shouldn't have worried. It exceeded my expectations. I'm a very beginner cook so if I can make this anyone can! I would suggest reading the directions several times ahead of time so you have clear idea of what you'll be doing. That helped me out a lot! I think this will become my standard company dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisternumber4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I loved this cheesecake! I didn't do the sour cream top cause it was getting late and I needed to finish up. YUMMY! Will make again. I will up the flour to about 1/4cup to make it thicker. Thanks for the awesome recipe. (also I didnt use the cinn or brown sugar in the crust and it turned out perfectly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This cheesecake is absolutely one of the best I've ever made. For the crust, I took out the 'whites' of the Oreos and just crushed the chocolate wafers. But I followed the recipe exactly and it produced a luscious, creamy, decadent cheesecake that tastes absolutely phenomenal. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Excellent! I read most of the reviews and decided to leave the cinnamon in the crust and then when making it I forgot to add it. I will however try to remember to put it in next time I make this cheesecake. As far as the crust, I did not find it mushy as others did. I did not however add the 1/4 cup brown sugar to the crust. Oreo cookies are sweet enough without adding more sugar to them. I did add about 8 more cookies though and an extra tbsp. of butter. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup rather than the 1 1/4 cup in the recipe. My cookies were in nice big chunks inside the cheesecake. When I pulled the cheesecake out of the oven and before adding the sour cream layer which I also reduced the sugar to about half, I did let the cheesecake rest about 5 minutes before putting it back in the oven for the additional 7 minutes. I turned off the oven and left the cheesecake in the oven for 1 hour rather that a 1/2 hour, then I cracked the door and left it in the oven until just about room temp. Then I refrigerated the cheesecake and when it was nice and firm the next day I topped it with the chocolate topping. I did use about half of what was required, just enough to cover the top. After the chocolate was cold and firm on the top I removed the outer ring and cut it into 16 peices with a fishing line to ensure nice neat slices that could be easily removed. Everyone oooed and aaaed and several people asked for the recipe. Make sure you start this several days in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great recipe. I love cheesecake and I have made many different recipes which always get raving reviews. But this one tops all recipes I made. It is absolutely divine. I followed the recipe, but I did use more cookies for both the base and the layer in between. Thank you for a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loughborough, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States