Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the hit of the party! I couldn't believe all of the wonderful comments! I used the mini oreo cookies in the middle of the cheesecake and just crushed chocolate animal crackers for the crust. I was worried that it wasn't set when I took it out of the oven to cool but it did set overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberjoih
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I followed this recipe almost exactly as directed, except I used a water bath as I always do. I admit I was on the fence about the sour cream layer, and decided to follow the recipe. If you are not sure if you want to try it, or you're scared, just do it - it adds more visually than taste-wise. Like others, I felt the chocolate layer was a bit much. I used dark choc. chips. Next time I will probably cut the amount of choc. down to a 1/4 of the recommended amount and just put a light, thin layer on top. The dark choc. was excellent (just too much), and I'll likely do that again. The crust was perfect. My only complaint is that the middle ended up not quite done. I let the cake cook in the oven for an extra 7 minutes due to the water bath, then turned it off and let sit as directed. When I pulled it out, it had the typical appearance of a properly set cheesecake and I was happy -but 2 days later (I always find cheesecake is better if it can sit for a full day) when I cut into it, the very center was almost pie-like. It was still delicious, but I was disappointed. So I would recommend cooking a bit longer than the recipe advises - maybe even 15 minutes. In fact, I will likely cook a full hour and fifteen and skip the sit inside the oven bit. Aside from that minor detail (and let me assure you we had no problem eating the entire cake!), it was a nice diversion from the traditional NY style cakes I typically make. I will def. make this again with some minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberjoih

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is the first cheesecake I have ever made. It was perfect! So delicious! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I should have baked cheesecake just a little longer. Was not set up in the middle but tasted great. Followed instructions but used a 9 inch pan. On the rim of the pan I put a folded three inch strip of foil around the pan so I could add all of the layers and it worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
AMAZING!!! Made this for the first time for Thanksgiving with the in-laws without trying it out first...risky, but SUCCESS!! This is a bit time-consuming, but make sure to layer the ingredients as specified. If you accidentally crack the cheesecake while baking, the sour cream layer definitely covers it up! Make sure to use more chocolate chips than called for to have a thicker ganache on the top... mine was a bit runny and I even added extra chocolate chips. Definitely takes the suggested amount of time to set up... put in the freezer if you need to expedite the process. My family and in-laws are already asking me to bake another one of these. It doesn't last long and is definitely restaurant quality!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Def need to increase baking time. I baked for 95 minutes and let it sit in the oven for the 30 minutes on top of that. I don't know what it was but it took forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
A bit rich for my taste, but still an AMAZING cheesecake with a lot of flavor... I love the cinnamon in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmottola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
this was the most amazing cheesecake recipe ever. Left out the cinnamon in the crust, but followed the rest of the directions. SUPER GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I quite like this cheesecake. It's a lot of work but I think it's worth it. It's not overly sweet either, which is nice. I'm not crazy about the sour cream layer on the top of the cake. I think I would skip that next time and just put the ganache on top. Otherwise good cake and probably will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Excellent recipe. Excluded the sour cream layer and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States